Pumpkin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
YUMMY!!! I have to disagree about the "raw pumpkin" taste other reviewers mentioned. I scaled recipe to 1 serving used 1/2 c. regular rolled oats, 1/2 c. milk, 1/2 c. water. Added pumpkin and spices (didn't have pie spice) and 1/4 c. raisins. My secret ingredient a dash of salt. Never make oatmeal without it-brings out the flavors. Microwaved for 5:30 mins. on high. Added 1 Tbs. maple syrup at end. Omitted cinnamon sugar. This will be in my regular breakfast rotation from now on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
If you make this oatmeal the way it is written, it is very bland and hard. I ended up adding more milk, because the oatmeal was in a big, hard lump. I also added a little salt, which helped bring out the flavors. It was still really bland, so I added extra pumpkin, and doubled the amount of pumpkin pie spice. This helped a lot. I also sprinkled the top of the oatmeal with a generous amount of extra cinnamon sugar. With these alterations, the oatmeal is very, very good. The pumpkin gives it a smooth, almost velvety texture. I will be making this again, but with these changes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I twekaed this recipe to my taste just a little: I make it one serving at a time the way I normally do: half a cup of oldfashioned oats with one cup of milk, in the microwave. Instead of using pumpkin pie spice, I use the three traditional spices for pumpkin pie: cinnamon, ginger and ground cloves. I don't use cinnamon sugar either, I use crystaline fructose (which I use ion place of sucrose just about everywhere). Its one of my favorite breakfasts-- I started making it at the beginning of the fall semester when the weather started to turn wintery here in Wisconsin, now it's late June and I still by canned pumpkin regularly just so I can fix it. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Pumpkin lovers heaven, and healthy, too. With a little experimentation it's perfect for my taste. I use 1 cup of milk for 1/2 cup oatmeal (cook on stovetop) 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and a dash of cloves. For sweetness I added a Sweet-n-Low. It's like having dessert for breakfast, and I agree with the other reviewer - extremely filling and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I love pumpkin oatmeal! I've been putting canned pumpkin in my oats for several weeks now. I was adding 2 tsp. organic brown sugar, but I've switched to sticking half of a frozen banana in the microwave for one minute, 'til it's melted, then adding in the oats/pumpkin/water/spices. That way I'm eating naturally sweetened oatmeal, plus getting veggies AND fruit in my first meal of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Picture Taker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Wow, this is a real nutritional powerhouse, using the old-fashioned oats instead of quick. I used 1 c. oats, 1 c. milk, dash of salt, generous 1/2 c. pumpkin, 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice plus a sprinkle of cinnamon, plus Splenda until it tasted sweet enough. I cooked it on top of the stove. Delicious, and I like that it has the cinnamon, which is good to keep blood sugar levels steady.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Like another reviewer, I liked the idea of pumpkin (my favorite)in my oatmeal (my second favorite?, but didn't like the 'rawness' of the pumpkin flavor. My solution? Make a batch of Libby's pumpkin custard usng the recipe on the back of the can. You make your regular bowl of oatmeal and add 1/2 cup of the custard mixture to it. You get double the amount of pumpkin for breakfast and it is PERFECTION in a bowl... and relatively guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Cook on stovetop to avoid undercooked pumpkin taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kallie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Very bland as written, but I love the idea of incorporating pumpkin into oatmeal. After reading reviews, I made the following changes: used old-fashioned oats instead of instant for better texture, added 1/4 cup dried cranberries (raisins, dates, prunes would also work well) and I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a dash of salt, then omitted the cinnamon sugar. I probably could have gotten away with just a couple tbsp. of brown sugar, but this definitely needs some sweetness added, even if it's just a little honey or maple syrup. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by greenbabby
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I think it is a good idea, a healthy way to satisfy my pumpkin craving, but the oatmeal was hard as a rock! next time I will up the milk/water to 1 1/2 cup and add the pumpkin in at the begining to cook it a little more. I also added 2 packets of splenda and increased the pumpkin pie spice a couple of shakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States