Pumpkin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Like another reviewer, I liked the idea of pumpkin (my favorite)in my oatmeal (my second favorite?, but didn't like the 'rawness' of the pumpkin flavor. My solution? Make a batch of Libby's pumpkin custard usng the recipe on the back of the can. You make your regular bowl of oatmeal and add 1/2 cup of the custard mixture to it. You get double the amount of pumpkin for breakfast and it is PERFECTION in a bowl... and relatively guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I love everything pumpkin, but wasn't wild about this one. Served with lots of extra sugar on top, but it still tasted like uncooked canned pumpkin. I think this recipe is a great idea so I'll do some tweaking and post my changes by updating this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I had great hopes for this recipe, but I thought it was super bland, I couldn't finish it. I might not have put enough sugar in it. I think it could be good if you don't mind loading up on the cinimon sugar, maple syrup or some kind of sweetner, but I wanted to keep it healthy. Just my 2 cents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very, very good, healthy, and a good way to get a veggie for breakfast (especially for a picky toddler!). Will try adding brown sugar/maple syrup next time - my toddler loves it, but I could use a little more sweetener. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I so much wanted to love this! I was expecting a taste like "pumpkin pie for breakfast" but it took some tweaking. I needed a lot of brown sugar. The smell was wonderful. Made me ready for fall, and it's barely summer! I will probably make this again, my little son liked it too, and it IS healthy. Thanks Juloyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I thought this was pretty good, and stretched a bowl of regular oatmeal even further. I like to make the 5-minute oats that you cook on the stove (i.e., not instant). I cooked the pumpkin spice with it, then added the pumpkin puree when it was done. I had to add a lot of sweetener, but once I did that, it was good. Kind of a weird recipe, but I bet I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I love this. It is my new favorite breakfast. I half the recipe, add raisins, and use more liquid than stated. I've used water when I was out of milk and it worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Yes it's tasty and filling after adding some raisins and sweetening it with either brown sugar or maple syrup (omitting the cinnamon sugar). I also used 1/2c oatmeal and 1/2c milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
This is great and I get a vegetable for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osburn, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
I loved it! A great way to get your veggies in the morning! Didn't even need spices or sugar...the pumpkin taste was enough. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States