Pumpkin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
As is, it's okay. I added a couple level tablespoons of brown sugar to make it a little sweeter and less pumpkin-intense. After that, I loved it. My kids did not. I floated milk on the top and threw in a handful of raisins, as that's how I grew up always eating my oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I almost doubled the amount of pumpkin in this recipe because I love the taste of pumpkin, and it was still not flavorful enough for me. I think this has the potential to be delicious but it could use some tweaking first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This needed more liquid because I like creamy oatmeal. I sprinkled brown sugar on top to sweeten the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
After reading RENEE35's review, I was worried about the raw pumpkin taste. I didn't want to make custard per se, with the egg and all. So, my solution was to make a batch of Libby's "quick pumpkin pudding" with one packet of FF SF vanilla pudding, a can of FF evap milk and a tsp of pumpkin pie spice. Stir in with your prepared oatmeal. Perfection without the calories or the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I think I did something wrong. I did not have cinn sugar, so I did 1/2 tsp sugar and 1/2 tsp cinn. Otherwise followed exactly. Its pretty good but it looks very unappealing. But I am 24 weeks pregnant, so maybe it's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Thank you for a great idea!! I made quick cooking oats as I usually do (with water, not milk), added pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice and a drizzle of maple syrup, yummo!! A great change for your fall oatmeal! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
It was good - great for pumpkin lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I was looking for something quick and easy in the morning, I have to get up for work @ 4:30am! I used to just skip breakfast but I know that is not good. I tried this because I love pumpkin, but I agree with other reviewers that the "RAW" taste was not for me. I used a can of Libby's Pumpkin Pie mix that was already spiced and added a 1/2 cup to my oatmeal. I also used rolled oats which I prefer over the quick oats, and I just microwaved them for 3 min. It was great! Thanks for the idea, I will definately be making this every morning. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Great recipe. Like others i've modified it for an individual serving. I added .5 cup oats with 1 cup of water and .5 cup of milk, ground cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and allspice. Instead of the raisins, I cut a peeled banana in half, put some cinnamon on both sides and grilled it in a pan while the oatmeal cooked for 5 minutes in the microwave. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I like the idea, but we had to add a lot more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States