Pumpkin Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Wow, this is a real nutritional powerhouse, using the old-fashioned oats instead of quick. I used 1 c. oats, 1 c. milk, dash of salt, generous 1/2 c. pumpkin, 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice plus a sprinkle of cinnamon, plus Splenda until it tasted sweet enough. I cooked it on top of the stove. Delicious, and I like that it has the cinnamon, which is good to keep blood sugar levels steady.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I give this one a four with my additions: a lot of brown sugar, salt to taste and raisins. Also, I used old-fashioned instead of quick; a texture thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
If you make this oatmeal the way it is written, it is very bland and hard. I ended up adding more milk, because the oatmeal was in a big, hard lump. I also added a little salt, which helped bring out the flavors. It was still really bland, so I added extra pumpkin, and doubled the amount of pumpkin pie spice. This helped a lot. I also sprinkled the top of the oatmeal with a generous amount of extra cinnamon sugar. With these alterations, the oatmeal is very, very good. The pumpkin gives it a smooth, almost velvety texture. I will be making this again, but with these changes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Am I the only one who found this really bland? Maybe I didn't add enough pumpkin spice...but I did follow the directions. It actually tastes more bland to me than just plain oatmeal. Maybe I'll go drizzle some honey over it or something... but even the pound of cinnamon/sugar I've put on top of it hasn't helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellygreen49

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Cook on stovetop to avoid undercooked pumpkin taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kallie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
My only change was adding raisons. My 15 month daughter LOVED this and she truly needed the fiber. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I use half milk and half water and old fashion oats and cook it on the stovetop. It takes a little longer but I prefer the chewiness of the bigger oats. I drizzle a big spoon of honey on top and don't forget the raisins! I am FULL for several hours after this healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Yum! Used water instead of milk to cook, then once it was cooked I topped it off with milk. Used cinnamon, sugar and nutmeg. I've also made this topped off with light eggnog....even better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
As is, it's okay. I added a couple level tablespoons of brown sugar to make it a little sweeter and less pumpkin-intense. After that, I loved it. My kids did not. I floated milk on the top and threw in a handful of raisins, as that's how I grew up always eating my oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I almost doubled the amount of pumpkin in this recipe because I love the taste of pumpkin, and it was still not flavorful enough for me. I think this has the potential to be delicious but it could use some tweaking first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States