Pumpkin-Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We liked these. I am fan of baked goods with oatmeal and pumpkin anything though. I also don't like really sweet baked goods, so these worked good for me. With that being said, I had leftover pumpkin pie filling and this recipe was recommended. I really think, this recipe benefits from pumpkin pie filling over pumpkin puree due to having absolutely no sugar. It is a scone and not a biscuit. It should have even a little. So my rating is on making that necessary change. I don't care much for frosting or icings and opted to make just a half a recipe of it. I actually thought they were fine just as is. The icing makes them look more decorative though. After I measured out half the powdered sugar I realized it still needed the same amount of milk and spices as using the full amount. It tasted a little flat, so I also ended up adding an equal amount of pumpkin spice. That seemed to do the trick. I followed the recipe, as is, and had no troubles. I did knead on parchment and bake on it also. The suggested bake time is also way off. They took 30 minutes. During the last 5 minutes I used a sharp knife to separate the scones to ensure the centers were properly baked. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Liked these scones. I did add a Tbsp of coconut sugar and used coconut oil instead of butter. I found I needed to cook them longer and separate them to cook them through but they are very tasty and I love the savoury scone as opposed to a sweet one. Because of that I did not frost them at all. Another time I will brush them with milk and a sprinkle of sugar instead so they look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used quick oats and they turned out fine. I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar and they were still not sweet enough, even with icing. I tend to like healthy/non-sweet things, but they need a bit more sugar. The texture was dry which is how I like my scones. They could used more of the spices as well. The poster who suggested cutting in the butter with a cheese grater is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I made the scones but used pumpkin pie spice. These scones are pretty darn good. They will be delicious with a cup of coffee in the morning. They are not sweet but I really liked them. I noticed people added sugar or swapped out wheat flour for part of the white flour. I'm sure those variations are yummy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious! Made half the recipe this morning for breakfast for my teen son and I. Easy, quick, healthy. I will certainly make these again. We live at high altitude so I use double acting baking powder. Thank you MattsWife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made these twice and they are delicious. I did add 1/3 c of brown sugar for some sweetness and used 1 Tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice instead of all the others. I also added a small amount of pumpkin pie spice to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Wow, it didn't even dawn on me that this recipe had no sugar! It DEFINITELY needs sugar. Throw a quarter cup of brown sugar in there or something. They're good but just... not right without a touch of sweetness. I hate that drizzle powdered sugar icing so I left that off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I make this recipe as written except I use white whole wheat flour. I make them to take to work and everyone loves them. Great fall treat! I have substituted apple for the pumpkin and that is good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn
Living In: Wells, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
had a craving for pumpkin scones... I used half whole wheat flour, tossed in some walnuts, raisins and almost 1/4 c. honey. Tastes great, lightly sweet and yummy fresh out of the oven! Don't even need the glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I was so disappointed that when mine came out of the oven after baking as recommended, they were chewy and too moist. The glaze wasn't that good, but I added 2 TBS of pumpkin puree and it tasted much better. The scones taste like pumpkin flavored oatmeal cookies without the raisins. I am still on the quest to find a recipe more similar to Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States