Pumpkin-Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We liked these. I am fan of baked goods with oatmeal and pumpkin anything though. I also don't like really sweet baked goods, so these worked good for me. With that being said, I had leftover pumpkin pie filling and this recipe was recommended. I really think, this recipe benefits from pumpkin pie filling over pumpkin puree due to having absolutely no sugar. It is a scone and not a biscuit. It should have even a little. So my rating is on making that necessary change. I don't care much for frosting or icings and opted to make just a half a recipe of it. I actually thought they were fine just as is. The icing makes them look more decorative though. After I measured out half the powdered sugar I realized it still needed the same amount of milk and spices as using the full amount. It tasted a little flat, so I also ended up adding an equal amount of pumpkin spice. That seemed to do the trick. I followed the recipe, as is, and had no troubles. I did knead on parchment and bake on it also. The suggested bake time is also way off. They took 30 minutes. During the last 5 minutes I used a sharp knife to separate the scones to ensure the centers were properly baked. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Liked these scones. I did add a Tbsp of coconut sugar and used coconut oil instead of butter. I found I needed to cook them longer and separate them to cook them through but they are very tasty and I love the savoury scone as opposed to a sweet one. Because of that I did not frost them at all. Another time I will brush them with milk and a sprinkle of sugar instead so they look nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used quick oats and they turned out fine. I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar and they were still not sweet enough, even with icing. I tend to like healthy/non-sweet things, but they need a bit more sugar. The texture was dry which is how I like my scones. They could used more of the spices as well. The poster who suggested cutting in the butter with a cheese grater is a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I made the scones but used pumpkin pie spice. These scones are pretty darn good. They will be delicious with a cup of coffee in the morning. They are not sweet but I really liked them. I noticed people added sugar or swapped out wheat flour for part of the white flour. I'm sure those variations are yummy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious! Made half the recipe this morning for breakfast for my teen son and I. Easy, quick, healthy. I will certainly make these again. We live at high altitude so I use double acting baking powder. Thank you MattsWife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made these twice and they are delicious. I did add 1/3 c of brown sugar for some sweetness and used 1 Tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice instead of all the others. I also added a small amount of pumpkin pie spice to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Wow, it didn't even dawn on me that this recipe had no sugar! It DEFINITELY needs sugar. Throw a quarter cup of brown sugar in there or something. They're good but just... not right without a touch of sweetness. I hate that drizzle powdered sugar icing so I left that off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I make this recipe as written except I use white whole wheat flour. I make them to take to work and everyone loves them. Great fall treat! I have substituted apple for the pumpkin and that is good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn
Living In: Wells, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
had a craving for pumpkin scones... I used half whole wheat flour, tossed in some walnuts, raisins and almost 1/4 c. honey. Tastes great, lightly sweet and yummy fresh out of the oven! Don't even need the glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I was so disappointed that when mine came out of the oven after baking as recommended, they were chewy and too moist. The glaze wasn't that good, but I added 2 TBS of pumpkin puree and it tasted much better. The scones taste like pumpkin flavored oatmeal cookies without the raisins. I am still on the quest to find a recipe more similar to Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States