Pumpkin Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
My family loved this bread. If you're looking for the Starbucks type pumpkin bread with more sugar and spice than pumpkin, this is NOT for you! This lower sugar bread was moist, easy and delicious. We could actually TASTE the pumpkin over the spice which was a nice change. Next time I'm using whole wheat flour and some wheat germ as well as cutting back to 1/3 c oil and 1/3 c applesauce. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made it for my diabetic husband. I subbed applesauce for the oil. Used whole wheat pastry flour and my own blend of pumpkin pie spice. I halved the recipe & used Splenda for the white sugar, but left the brown in. We are enjoying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
There was a time when I would not have appreciated this bread because it is dense and not extremely sweet. We've been cutting back on sugar and trying to convert to whole grains, so this recipe was a good fit for us. We loved it, as did the church group I shared it with. I was out of whole wheat flour the last time, but I can't wait to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Mine took closer to an hour (plus) to bake. To plump the oats, I let them sit in a half cup of applesauce, quarter cup oil & the pumpkin for a while. I subbed splenda for the white sugar. It is a heavy bread - heavier than most. No "wows," but pretty good. Next day review: 13 year old boy likes it. Surprise. The spices deepened overnight. Not strong still, but more evident. I'll have to play with this one to get it lighter - as in less dense. A couple more days later, the spices intensified so much no one liked it. We threw it away. Definately wouldn't freeze this one. Eat within a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with two very dense unappealing loaves. Also there was very little flavor. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fmlevy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
this bread/recipe is *awesome*. i was looking for a tasty way to get more fiber into my family's diet and this hit the spot. granted, there are other (healthier, packed with more fiber) recipes out there to try but i was in the mood for some fall comfort food. the bread is very dense and slightly chewy (probably due to the oats)... the flavor is fantastic. my extremely picky fiancé fell in love at first bite, and in our house that says a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Just go on and make a double batch! I used the flour blend in the notes and cut back on the sugar a little. I made one loaf and used the other half the batter to make 9 muffins with raisins. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the worst bread ever, dry, no flavour, not sweet, this should be called Lo fat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is actually a very yummy bread! However, I found it a little densed. I don't know if it's something I did, but it was a little tough to cut into (but very moist on the inside which was good!). I love the taste and I will definitely make it again, probably increasing the leavening agent. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautifuldisaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good bread. Everyone loved it. I skipped the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States