Pumpkin Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
very good! A dense bread packed with good things. Less sweet than most pumpkin breads or quick breads. Perfect for heating and topping with butter. Loaf is as tall as most quick breads. I skipped topping it with extra oats. Substituted quick oats. Used half course ground whole wheat flour and half fine-milled white flour. Added 1 tsp baking powder (1 tsp baking powder for each cup flour) Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the worst bread ever, dry, no flavour, not sweet, this should be called Lo fat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I used butternut squash instead of pumpkin,and 2and 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of 3 cups of all purpose flour. I used 1 and 1/2 cups of rolled oats in the batter. Instead of putting oats on tops of loaves I sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. The loaves did not turn out as tall as I would have liked. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate it a 9. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamawbearx5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monticello, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Good proportions. To make sure it was not overly dense I seperated the eggs and whipped the whites folding them into the batter. Also I didn't have enough all purpose flour so I used I cup of tapioca flour. Perhaps a littel vanilla extract would have added even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with two very dense unappealing loaves. Also there was very little flavor. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fmlevy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I love this recipe! It is so moist and "pumpkiny"! I substitued natural applesauce for the oil. If it wasn't for all the sugar, it would be almost good for you! :) I made 1 regular loaf and 3 mini loaves. That works out best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbrown7k
Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
this was great! I made it into muffins instead. I also, based on advice from another reveiw, upped the leavening ingrediant jsut a smidge. I think I could taste it a little and I didn't see much difference. I would bake these again, very hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
this bread/recipe is *awesome*. i was looking for a tasty way to get more fiber into my family's diet and this hit the spot. granted, there are other (healthier, packed with more fiber) recipes out there to try but i was in the mood for some fall comfort food. the bread is very dense and slightly chewy (probably due to the oats)... the flavor is fantastic. my extremely picky fiancé fell in love at first bite, and in our house that says a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
There was a time when I would not have appreciated this bread because it is dense and not extremely sweet. We've been cutting back on sugar and trying to convert to whole grains, so this recipe was a good fit for us. We loved it, as did the church group I shared it with. I was out of whole wheat flour the last time, but I can't wait to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Mine took closer to an hour (plus) to bake. To plump the oats, I let them sit in a half cup of applesauce, quarter cup oil & the pumpkin for a while. I subbed splenda for the white sugar. It is a heavy bread - heavier than most. No "wows," but pretty good. Next day review: 13 year old boy likes it. Surprise. The spices deepened overnight. Not strong still, but more evident. I'll have to play with this one to get it lighter - as in less dense. A couple more days later, the spices intensified so much no one liked it. We threw it away. Definately wouldn't freeze this one. Eat within a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States