Pumpkin Nut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are yummy. I used Supergrain flour instead of all purpose. Also, I used no butter or oil, but substituted 1/2 cup applesauce with great results. With no buttermilk around, I did the sour milk alternative. I added some cloves. Per some comments, I used 1/2 cup dark brown sugar and 1/2 cup white, although I did scant 1/2 cups. I was out of molasses and used pure maple syrup which also tasted good. Lastly, we have a nut allergy in the house, and these are yummy with no nuts at all. This recipe is moist and delicious and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
They were great!! Did not add nuts and added extra vanilla. Added crumb topping for some crunchy crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel's mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These baked up nice, moist and delicious. I used spelt flour, increased the baking powder and vanilla to one teaspoon. I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt and used 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice for the spices. Also, I used Z-Sweet in place of sugar. I used walnuts in place of pecans and tossed in 1/4 cup of organic chocolate chips. These needed to bake for 22 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Was tasty, but for some reason they were small and did not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These worked out really well for me. I only got 12 full sized muffins, though, not 24. I don't know if that's what happened to others. I used whole wheat flour, I upped the baking powder and vanilla extract to a full teaspoon, I used 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice, organic eggs, homemade cooked sugar pumpkin, and at the last minute, I added 1/2 cup Hershey's cinnamon baking chips. These baked up beautifully, smelled wonderful and were a great use for my pumpkin "guts". NOTE: 350 for 20 minutes was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These were great. I made some changes: -I used cottage cheese instead of buttermilk, partly because I didn't have buttermilk and partly because I wanted to add more protein -I doubled the nuts (again for protein) -I used a bit less sugar -I omitted the baking powder because I didn't have any on hand They turned out awesome and rose up beautifully. Even my husband who turned his nose up at me for cooking up the leftover pumpkin pieces from jack-o-lantern carving is eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Good, but a little heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Mine came out nice and moist, yet I did several substitutions. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, yogurt instead of buttermilk, and fresh roasted pumpkin instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Good results with this one. I did a batch & one half to get 24 muffins. I found out I was low on sugar so I had to cut back by 1/3 of what was call for. The muffins were very moist. Next time I'll add a little salt & cloves and double the batch so I can fill the cups a little fuller. Great the next few days warmed in the microwave for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
A tasty muffin! I used half whole wheat pastry flour, used half brown/half white sugar, added 1/2 tsp salt, and added some diced candied ginger. Baked up 6 large muffins. Fantastic! I topped with a orange cream cheese frosting. The whole family loved them. I will make them again and again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza+Mum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States