Pumpkin Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
fantastic! i was looking for a recipe like this and finally found it. but make sure you take a look at how many it serves... i didn't; and made way too much! otherwise it is incredible. i do suggest adding a few ice cubes in there to make it a bit colder. all the blending warms it up, even with the ice cream in it. also i left out the mace, i didn't have any and it was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This drink mixes the holidays Thanksgiving and Christmas together . It makes a perfect concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Eight thumbs up from all the members in my family. Even my husband, which surprized me. No mace, so I used 1 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice. I made no other changes. This is very similar to a pumpkin pie shake which is beyond awesome. My kids thought I was the coolest mom ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarasyn
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This recipe was really disappointing, but a couple of small tweaks made this recipe something the who family loved, even me who doesn't like pumpkin! It wasn't near sweet enough so on a whim my partner added about 2-3 Tbsps of cinnamon and sugar mix and about a half cup of sugar, but he likes his pumpkin sweet. It's like drinking pumpkin pie or pumpkin pudding in milkshake form. It is exactly as advertised, the way people think of milkshakes in New England or what you'd think of with the term "nog". It's got about the consistency of eggnog, but pumpkin pie flavored! You could easily make this into a frappe if you simply reduced the milk to...I'd say about a cup? And added three more cups of ice cream. You could probably swap out the pint for a half-gallon, or a gallon if you wanted it really thick and that would do the trick. In short, few little tweaks and this became a fantastic family favorite. I actually liked it well enough without modifications (and I really don't like pumpkin flavored anything!) but the family voted on sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarasyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sanger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
The name says it all as far as flavor, of course it's an intense pumpkin drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doober Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I think the low ratings on this recipe can be attributed to people thinking they will get something rich and sweet like pumpkin pie or a fast food chain pumpkin milkshake, but this is really good. I agree it needs sweetener, so I added 1 1/2 Tbsp Splenda and that did the job perfectly (as would the same amount of sugar I presume). I also just used pumpkin pie spice instead of all the separate spices and I used approximately double (about 2 tsp for the whole recipe). It turned out pretty good and my mom, who doesn't like anything out of the ordinary, really enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy!! I really shouldn't review this, as i didn't follow the recipe to the tee. But I will say, I did a Half batch as it is just my husband and small son so we didn't need a lot. So I used half the pumpkin, a Pint of Ice cream, and 2 cups of milk, I put in about 5 TBS of Brown Sugar, and twice the amount of Spice, and 1 tsp vanilla. this would be just like one you would get at a fast food Joint. It was Oh so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Having made several milkshakes before, I made a minor modification without reading the other reviews. If you half the milk and double the ice cream, it gives it that perfect sweetness that doesn't require additional sugar. I also substituted allspice for the mace (I didn't have any mace on hand). I also halved the recipe in order to have it serve me, my husband, and my 3 kids (5 servings). It made 2 adult servings (about 1 3/4 c) and one 8oz child serving. While the full recipe might be too much, it doesn't serve 10 good-sized milkshakes. It will make 10 8 oz shakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Wasn't a big hit. Needed about 1/2 cup sugar, and I had to make it in batches because not all the milk would fit in the blender. Kids liked it, but adults didn't care for it too much. Don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I used this is a vague outline...just mixed eggnog with some pumpkin puree and soymilk, added cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States