Pumpkin Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kimberly
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I think the low ratings on this recipe can be attributed to people thinking they will get something rich and sweet like pumpkin pie or a fast food chain pumpkin milkshake, but this is really good. I agree it needs sweetener, so I added 1 1/2 Tbsp Splenda and that did the job perfectly (as would the same amount of sugar I presume). I also just used pumpkin pie spice instead of all the separate spices and I used approximately double (about 2 tsp for the whole recipe). It turned out pretty good and my mom, who doesn't like anything out of the ordinary, really enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
fantastic! i was looking for a recipe like this and finally found it. but make sure you take a look at how many it serves... i didn't; and made way too much! otherwise it is incredible. i do suggest adding a few ice cubes in there to make it a bit colder. all the blending warms it up, even with the ice cream in it. also i left out the mace, i didn't have any and it was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Eight thumbs up from all the members in my family. Even my husband, which surprized me. No mace, so I used 1 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice. I made no other changes. This is very similar to a pumpkin pie shake which is beyond awesome. My kids thought I was the coolest mom ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Having made several milkshakes before, I made a minor modification without reading the other reviews. If you half the milk and double the ice cream, it gives it that perfect sweetness that doesn't require additional sugar. I also substituted allspice for the mace (I didn't have any mace on hand). I also halved the recipe in order to have it serve me, my husband, and my 3 kids (5 servings). It made 2 adult servings (about 1 3/4 c) and one 8oz child serving. While the full recipe might be too much, it doesn't serve 10 good-sized milkshakes. It will make 10 8 oz shakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I used this is a vague outline...just mixed eggnog with some pumpkin puree and soymilk, added cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
not a hit here! i really like pumpkin, and i even incorporated some of the suggestions; however, i would not make this again. in my husband's words "it was like drinking pumpkin pie filling."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Wasn't a big hit. Needed about 1/2 cup sugar, and I had to make it in batches because not all the milk would fit in the blender. Kids liked it, but adults didn't care for it too much. Don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I started by following the recipe as written with the exception of the milk which wouldn't all fit into my blender. We all agreed that it was very bland.I added nearly a cup of sugar and more ice cream. I ended up using much less milk than what the recipe calls (about 1/2). The final product with all of my modifications was yummy, but not worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMCLRH2O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Not nearly sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy!! I really shouldn't review this, as i didn't follow the recipe to the tee. But I will say, I did a Half batch as it is just my husband and small son so we didn't need a lot. So I used half the pumpkin, a Pint of Ice cream, and 2 cups of milk, I put in about 5 TBS of Brown Sugar, and twice the amount of Spice, and 1 tsp vanilla. this would be just like one you would get at a fast food Joint. It was Oh so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States