Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I’m always pleased when I’m the first reviewer of a recipe and can write an enthusiastic and positive review. I do have my criticisms of this recipe, but they’re no biggies and don’t detract from the resulting muffin at all. First, don’t bother measuring out 1-1/2 c. of the pumpkin. After doing so there was so little left in the 15 oz. can that I just used all of it. Second, I found that just 1/4 c. of raisins was skimpy – so I added another 1/4 cup. My remaining criticisms are slightly more important. As I looked over the ingredients and then the batter itself, I could see this was going to make way more than 18 muffins; and so it did. I got 24 perfectly sized and rounded muffins. The instructions to make the streusel are unconventional, so I chose to prepare it in the standard manner of mixing the flour and sugar, adding the butter until crumbly (I use a fork) and finally the oats. Because there were 24 muffins, not 18, I was short of topping and had no motivation to drag things out again to make another batch. I had enough to top 12 muffins very nicely and chose to leave the other 12 without. With or without topping, they’re lovely. They’re light and fluffy, not heavy and dense. Without streusel they’d be great with cream cheese frosting, but they’re just perfect as is. They’re gorgeous too, and just as delicious as they are pretty, not overly sweet and lightly spiced, so the pumpkin unmistakably takes center stage. Bonus: the topping actually stays put!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
If I were to rate this as a regular size muffin I'd give it 4 stars, but as a mini muffin this gets 5! I was able to make 12 regular muffins and 40 mini muffins. Make sure to double the streusel mixture. Also, I added about 1/2 cup of finely chopped pecans to the streusel; so glad I did! I found that the minis had the perfect balance of streusel-to muffin for optimal flavor; de-friggin'-liscious! I've Pinned the recipe and will be making these numerous times this fall. Great to make, store half to eat within a few days and freeze the rest. Then, as you want a muffin or two, remove from freezer and heat in microwave. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Was craving something with pumpkin and this did the trick! So moist and great flavor, the only thing I would do differently is add some chopped pecans to the streusel...other than that perfect! Update: I added a cream cheese filling to these muffins and it worked out perfectly! I made the filling out of: 8 ounces cream cheese, softened, 1 cup powdered sugar & 1/2 teaspoon vanilla. I then placed the mixture on plastic wrap and made a log out of it, wrapped it up and put in the freezer for a few hours and then just sliced it when I needed it to put in the center of the muffin batter. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Oh my! Just a few things, as noted in the other reviews and I feel the same way...double the raisins, use the whole 15oz can of pumpkin, and you MUST double the streusel topping! I ended up with 24 muffins, but I suppose it depends on the size of your muffin cups. I filled my cups almost to the top, leaving only enough room for the topping and they came out looking great. These really are fabulous muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Anyone who knows me knows I love to cook. My husband has been looking for a good pumpkin muffin. He was disappointed in Dunkin Doughnuts when he tried their pumpkin muffin. So I decided to give this one a try for him. This recipe was easy and taste awesome! He loved them as well as my daughter! You can't go wrong making theses muffins. Only thing different I did was to add a little more pumpkin spice, oatmeal and double the streusel topping( a must have). I am definitely pinning this one on pinterest.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gospelmusiclady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is the perfect recipe for fall! But I did have to -triple- the streusel (admit it, it's the best part!) to get a nice crunchy top to the 2 dozen mini and 9 full sized muffins the recipe made. I also had to improvise on the 'pumpkin pie spice' seeing as it's not something I keep in the cupboard, but a combination of 2.5 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger and 1/2 tsp cloves did the trick quite nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DalayceN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Delicous pumpkin muffin. Followed recipe exactly. Next time I may try butterflymamma's cream cheese filling idea. Also pecans in the topping would be a great addition. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Wonderful muffin! Opted to leave out raisins, but wow are these good! I baked for 20 minutes and they were perfect. Doubled the topping amount so I had enough. Made a batch of the mini muffins too, they cooked about 13 minutes. Will be making often! Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Great breakfast and easy! I made one dozen and thinned the rest of the batter for pancakes! The best pancakes I've ever had! My family agrees!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJKADABA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
We really loved these muffins but I wish Allreicpes.com had not taken away the Nutritional data at the bottom of all the recipes. As a Weight Watcher I need to have this information and it is a great loss to the site. In fact, it was one of the features I originally liked most about the site and has now made this recipes site less useful and less appealing to me. In this day and age where most people are watching fat, fibre, carbs and protein content (and calories)more closely, why would you discontinue this service? Please, please reinstate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States