Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
LOVED these! I really enjoyed the spice level (they are super spiced) but I can understand the desire to cut the spices back a bit. I've made it several times now, and I like them best when I cut the nutmeg back to 1 1/2 tsps and the allspice back to 1/2 tsp. I followed another reviewer's advice and replaced one of the cups of flour with a cup of rolled oats, and they sort of blend into the muffins as they cook, so they turn out very tender but with just a bit more structure. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups because I like my muffins not so sweet. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I thought this was a very good recipe. After reading other reviews, I used 1 cup white all purpose flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup rolled oats. I also only used 2/3 cup sugar. I used one can of pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling, just canned pumpkin) and it only had 2 1/2 cups of pumpkin in it, so I added 1/2 cup applesauce to make up for the difference. I also replaced half of the oil with applesauce. And, I added 1/2 cup golden raisins and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts for added flavor. With these changes, I was afraid the muffins would turn out gummy - but to my surprise, they did not! They were very substantial - tall and sturdy, but still moist. My kids gobbled them up! I got about 19 muffins from this recipe. After baking, I put some aside for breakfast and then froze the rest. I usually freeze muffins and then put them in a plastic bag in the morning and put them in my kids' lunches. By the time snack time rolls around, they have thawed and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These came out great! I used canned pumpkin and 2c flour 1c oats. Also 1c white sugar and only 1/4c brown sugar was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Yummy! Lovely & moist. I didn't have the cloves or the nutmeg so I upped the cinnamon & allspice. I also topped with Quaker Harvest Crunch granola. I think next time I might add cranberries and either walnuts or sunflower seeds. I will be adding these to my regular muffin roster. Note: These made 18 medium sized muffins for me. And I cooked for 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I loved these finely textured muffins. I divided the recipe in half (still used 2 eggs) and got 9 nice "tea size" muffins. I used canned pumpkin (1 cup) as I am always in a hurry - and they were delish. Put a dab of cream cheese icing on the few remaining muffins the next day and that was a nice addition. Almost like a light pumpkin loaf. I went a little light on the cloves for fear of overpowering the pumpkin flavour. Will make these again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Love these! They are perfectly spiced. As per another suggestion I used 2 cups W/w flour, 1 cup oatmeal, omitted the oil and used 1 cup homemade applesauce, cut the sugar to 3/4 cup and used 2 eggs and 1 tsp BP. Will make these again and again! Tip: Roast your pumpkin whole and then cut in half and scoop out seeds and strings. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Made the recipe as written except for using canned pumpkin. I used 2 1/2 cups of the canned pumpkin puree. The spices are good, but I think next time I will cut the cloves and allspice by 1/2. It made exactly 24 regular muffins. They are delicious and so moist!!! The second batch I made I added raisins to it. I did make a topping for the muffins and put it on them right before I put them into the oven. (1C flour, 1C instant oats, 1C brown sugar, 1/4tsp baking powder, 1/4tsp baking soda, 1/2tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 cup melted butter. Mix until it's crumbly and put onto unbaked muffins..) These are so good and the house smells amazing! Definitely feels like Autumn now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly the first time a made it. It made 16 large muffins. The spice was perfect for me, and I don't really like the flavor of cloves. It is not an overly sweet muffin, so its a nice treat to have with tea. I give it 5 stars based on the exact recipe as written with no substitutions. I have now made this recipe 4 times. I have tweaked it to suit my liking each time. It is very versatile. Even with a few experimental substitutes, I haven't had a failed batch yet. I doubled the recipe in my standmixer, and swapped out 1/3 flour for bran. Still Great! I subbed brown sugar for white. Steel GOOOOOOOD! I whipped up a batch of Cream cheese icing and "stuffed" my muffins. I poked a hole in them when they were still warm and piped my icing in the hole. WOWSERS!!!! Do what you want with this recipe, it will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great Recipe. Add 1/4 c. Flax, Sub !/2 Honey for 2C. Sugar, Add bananas as needed for moisture or sugar. Add Raisins and Pumpkin seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I read past reviews on these before making and cut back on the spices by half except for the cinnamon which I kept as the whole amount. These are good, kept their shape nicely and would be good with some nuts. I was going to do a streusel topping but forgot and I am glad I did because the muffins rose nicely. The whole family liked them although they said I could have used the original spice amounts called for. I will be making these again using the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States