Pumpkin Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by accidental housewife
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I doubled the recipe and used jumbo muffin tins, a double recipe made about 18 muffins and baked at about 40 minutes. I also added raisins and was generous with the spice. Oh my, these were decadent, spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental housewife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good. Took some liberties with the recipe.... cut the recipe in half, only used 1/2 cup of sugar, some whole wheat flour, in place of the half an egg, I added a bit of yogurt and some milled flax seed. I also didn't have enough pumpkin, so I rounded out the quantity wih mashed banana. Added chcocolate chips too. Got 13 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
It seemed like the recipe called for an aweful lot of sugar. I used 1 3/4 c instead of 2, not wanting to tweak it too much without trying it first. It was good. The spice amounts seemed way excessive, especially for my young boys. I used the cinnamon and salt as written and cut the rest in 1/2. The result was the perfect amount of spice. I used 1/2 applesauce/1/2 oil. UPDATE: I made this again with the same modifications and a crumb top. Super! Made the crumb top using 2/3 cup packed brown sugar 3/4 cup rolled oats 1/2 cup all-purpose flour 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 6 tablespoons butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This recipe is great. I substituted demerara sugar for the white sugar, used one 15 oz can of pumpkin instead of the fresh, and added a teaspoon of ginger to the mix of spices. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made these gluten free, with 3 cups of all-purpose gluten free flour and 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum replacing the 3 cups of all-purpose wheat flour. Also used 2 cups of canned pumpkin puree. They are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I really liked it and it is kid-kitchen friendly. My daughter (8) helped me bake and eat them ;) We also added fresh ginger. I squeezed it through a garlic press...ahh, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
The muffins were oversized and didnt get cooked all the way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srednakun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I baked my Halloween pumpkin for the first time this year and was looking for ways to use up the puree. These muffins turned out great. I didn't have cloves and allspice, so I used 2 tsp. cinnamon, 2 tsp. nutmeg, and 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice. Next time I will try the healthy substitutions others have suggested since I feel a little guilty about all the sugar. As others have noted this makes more that stated. I generously filled 12 muffin cups and had a little left over for one or two more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Everyone who likes this recipe seems to have not followed it. The amount of spices is overwhelming. The texture of these muffins is very dense. Using this recipe for 12 muffins, each muffin cup was almost overflowing with batter. They didn't get much bigger although they did develop nice domes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The spice ratios are way off. They would be better called 'Clove Muffins'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAEL JACKSON
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States