Pumpkin Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Oh my, this was absolutely delicious!! I didn't add quite the full 3 tbsp of white sugar, and next time I am going to leave out the mace (I used only a few small pinches, but it still overpowered the mousse with a cloying peppery taste... not a fan) and further reduce the cloves to just a few small shakes. Light and airy, like a deliciously smooth pumpkin pie filling without the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Bit disappointed. I've never made a mousse, though there's nothing here I haven't done before. I love pumpkin and like pumpkin cookies, bread, muffins, pancakes, etc. So I expected something else of this. (Maybe I just don't like mousse.) It was OK - I didn't dislike it, though I wasn't fond of the texture. Someone else who tried it really liked it and said it was like creamy pumpkin pie. (I disagree.) I decided not to be influenced by her opinion, simply cause I'm the one who had to make it, and I just didn't think it was worth it even if she liked it. Getting egg whites to stiffen takes patience, and add that to everything else - I wouldn't mind if I liked it better. I have issues with the recipe as well. Ingredients out of order is a major beef for me, and really, how hard is it to get them in order? I don't understand "until there's no big bubbles" - it's on heat - it just bubbled more, not less. (???) And the "alternative" instructions were confusing - is this an alternative to unmolding onto a plate, or an alternative to using a 6-cup mold at all? I chose to pretend it was the former, refrigerating in a bundt pan and then spooning into serving dishes before serving. I'm not sure I even see it as a choice cause it was too soft to "un-mold" on a plate. (I used the gingersnap crumbs in the bottom since I didn't care to buy crystallized ginger, but I didn't see the point to it. Well, I had some extra cookies to eat anyway.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Just made this recipe. It is very tasty but MUCH TOO labor intensive/time consuming. The instructions need to be rewritten to denote systematic order of procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is an easy recipe to make but the flavor was simply lacking for my taste. I found the egg whites needed more help and added 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar to help increase the lift. The Crystallized Ginger overwhelmed this dish, I would omit this if I choose to doctor it up the next time. Ginger is a very strong hot flavor, I don't suggest using it at the bottom of the dish. If you must use it, finely chop up, only 1 tbs, and place it throughout the Mousse. Update: Dec 16,2010 two cups of mouse still sit in my fridge. Not a huge hit in a house where food is KING. lowering stars to two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I gave this 3 star since as it is its ok. I however, made a pumpkin pie "slice" by putting graham crackers into a pan, spreading with the mousse topping with another layer of graham crackers and cool whip. This was excellent (would have been better with ginger snaps layerd instead of graham crackers!) The way I served it I'd give it 4 stars. All in all its only ok on its own but used to make something else its very good - it would be a good filling for a gingerbread cake too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This mousse tastes just like the middle of pumpkin pie, but is light and fluffy. I used pumpkin pie spice instead of all the separate spices and it tasted delicious! This has become a fall favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I eliminated the sugar, and cut the honey to just 1/2 cup. That is sweet enough for my family! Great tasting spices are in this pumpkin dessert! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a pretty complicated recipe for what I thought was an average/ok end dish. I used it as a trifle and layered it with whipped topping and crushed gingersnaps. It was well received but a bit heavy; maybe not the best way to use it. Not sure how I'd modify it just think maybe there's an easier way to get there. Still it was delicious and turned out exactly as the recipe described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Really good... and pretty easy. I did make some changes. I reduced the honey to 1/2 cup and the white sugar (whipped with the egg whites) to 2T. I also doubled the vanilla, and cut all the other spices in 1/2. I also used 1 cup of cream to dissolve the gelatin in instead of milk... and used 2% milk for the rest. I served the mousse with crumbled graham crackers and whipped cream to a group of preschoolers and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staramaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was easy and perfect for an early fall dinner. I could make it the night before and simply carry them out of the fridge without little prep. One guest event questioned if I had made this myself. I garnished each with a dollop of whipped cream and a drizzle of maple syrup with a ginger snap on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States