Pumpkin Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This mousse tastes just like the middle of pumpkin pie, but is light and fluffy. I used pumpkin pie spice instead of all the separate spices and it tasted delicious! This has become a fall favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Oh my, this was absolutely delicious!! I didn't add quite the full 3 tbsp of white sugar, and next time I am going to leave out the mace (I used only a few small pinches, but it still overpowered the mousse with a cloying peppery taste... not a fan) and further reduce the cloves to just a few small shakes. Light and airy, like a deliciously smooth pumpkin pie filling without the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was easy and perfect for an early fall dinner. I could make it the night before and simply carry them out of the fridge without little prep. One guest event questioned if I had made this myself. I garnished each with a dollop of whipped cream and a drizzle of maple syrup with a ginger snap on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Very good! It tasted very similar to pumpkin pie, with the consistincy of mousse. I used about two and a half tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice for the spices listed. Very low fat, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Absolutely wonderful!! Followed the recipe except for the mace, as I didn't have any. Next time will try with a 1/2 c of honey, just to make it a little more "guilt free". Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I eliminated the sugar, and cut the honey to just 1/2 cup. That is sweet enough for my family! Great tasting spices are in this pumpkin dessert! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Really good... and pretty easy. I did make some changes. I reduced the honey to 1/2 cup and the white sugar (whipped with the egg whites) to 2T. I also doubled the vanilla, and cut all the other spices in 1/2. I also used 1 cup of cream to dissolve the gelatin in instead of milk... and used 2% milk for the rest. I served the mousse with crumbled graham crackers and whipped cream to a group of preschoolers and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staramaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a pretty complicated recipe for what I thought was an average/ok end dish. I used it as a trifle and layered it with whipped topping and crushed gingersnaps. It was well received but a bit heavy; maybe not the best way to use it. Not sure how I'd modify it just think maybe there's an easier way to get there. Still it was delicious and turned out exactly as the recipe described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This recipe is much easier than it may look from the instructions and ingredient list. My boyfriend said it tasted just like pumpkin pie, and he would have thought it was if it had a crust. It's very creamy, but way fluffier than pumpkin pie. My only complaint is that I just about overdosed on all the spices. Their flavor was overpowering, and they take away from the mousse's smooth texture. Next time I make this (and I will definitely make it again), I will either use pre-made p.p. spice, or I will reduce everything except the cinnamon by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I gave this 3 star since as it is its ok. I however, made a pumpkin pie "slice" by putting graham crackers into a pan, spreading with the mousse topping with another layer of graham crackers and cool whip. This was excellent (would have been better with ginger snaps layerd instead of graham crackers!) The way I served it I'd give it 4 stars. All in all its only ok on its own but used to make something else its very good - it would be a good filling for a gingerbread cake too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States