Pumpkin Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Very good! It tasted very similar to pumpkin pie, with the consistincy of mousse. I used about two and a half tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice for the spices listed. Very low fat, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This recipe is much easier than it may look from the instructions and ingredient list. My boyfriend said it tasted just like pumpkin pie, and he would have thought it was if it had a crust. It's very creamy, but way fluffier than pumpkin pie. My only complaint is that I just about overdosed on all the spices. Their flavor was overpowering, and they take away from the mousse's smooth texture. Next time I make this (and I will definitely make it again), I will either use pre-made p.p. spice, or I will reduce everything except the cinnamon by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was easy and perfect for an early fall dinner. I could make it the night before and simply carry them out of the fridge without little prep. One guest event questioned if I had made this myself. I garnished each with a dollop of whipped cream and a drizzle of maple syrup with a ginger snap on the side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Really good... and pretty easy. I did make some changes. I reduced the honey to 1/2 cup and the white sugar (whipped with the egg whites) to 2T. I also doubled the vanilla, and cut all the other spices in 1/2. I also used 1 cup of cream to dissolve the gelatin in instead of milk... and used 2% milk for the rest. I served the mousse with crumbled graham crackers and whipped cream to a group of preschoolers and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staramaze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This mousse tastes just like the middle of pumpkin pie, but is light and fluffy. I used pumpkin pie spice instead of all the separate spices and it tasted delicious! This has become a fall favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is a pretty complicated recipe for what I thought was an average/ok end dish. I used it as a trifle and layered it with whipped topping and crushed gingersnaps. It was well received but a bit heavy; maybe not the best way to use it. Not sure how I'd modify it just think maybe there's an easier way to get there. Still it was delicious and turned out exactly as the recipe described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is an easy recipe to make but the flavor was simply lacking for my taste. I found the egg whites needed more help and added 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar to help increase the lift. The Crystallized Ginger overwhelmed this dish, I would omit this if I choose to doctor it up the next time. Ginger is a very strong hot flavor, I don't suggest using it at the bottom of the dish. If you must use it, finely chop up, only 1 tbs, and place it throughout the Mousse. Update: Dec 16,2010 two cups of mouse still sit in my fridge. Not a huge hit in a house where food is KING. lowering stars to two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefReigns

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I eliminated the sugar, and cut the honey to just 1/2 cup. That is sweet enough for my family! Great tasting spices are in this pumpkin dessert! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Absolutely wonderful!! Followed the recipe except for the mace, as I didn't have any. Next time will try with a 1/2 c of honey, just to make it a little more "guilt free". Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Just made this recipe. It is very tasty but MUCH TOO labor intensive/time consuming. The instructions need to be rewritten to denote systematic order of procedure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States