Pumpkin Marshmallows Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I scaled this down to try the recipe before I took it to my kids pumpkinfest at school and I'm glad I did! Because I could not get past the consistency. It was more like jello than marshmallow. The flavor wasnt bad but a very odd feeling when you bite into it. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
coat in powdered sugar, not cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fhrngrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Mine didn't look anything like the picture, but they were very good. Easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justdawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
The basic marshmallow recipe is based on Thomas Keller's French Laundry restaurant marshmallow recipe (which is very adaptable to all sorts of flavors). The pumpkin part is fun and pretty, but the cocoa coating just ruins it. Makes it too dark. Next time I will omit cocoa powder and use a mix of cornstarch and powdered sugar. ***I made these again, and the marshmallows are way too moist and do not dry out! They soak up all the PS/cornstarch mixture. Liquid is sitting at the bottom of the container as they sit. Eew. I am changing the rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made marshmallows. Me, a candy-thermometer challenged person. I. Made. Marshmallows. And they rock. Granted, I'm sure it's easier to buy a $.99 bag of the pre-made and I *know* there is no sticky residue covering every countertop, 4 bowls, 3 spatulas, 2 hands and one KA mixer when you do.... But how often do you get the chance to eat fresh, pillowy, oh-so-soft marshmallows that taste like pumpkin pie? Try these sometime, you just may surprise yourself. I know I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I tried these last week...while they tasted amazing they didnt really turn out like marshmallows...kind of a cross between marshmallows and jello
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdwashere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Just made these for a Wiccan event. Very easy to make and tasted great. Will keep this recipe and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Yum! A fabulous tasting marshmallow! I decided to try to make marshmallows today on a whim, and this recipe is very good! I do recommend adding the pumpkin mixture to taste, I made 2 batches and the second was a little less strong, which I preferred. Thanks for giving me a little treat to give my family's pumpkins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCADK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States