Pumpkin Maple Pie Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is awesome!!! I made the recipe as stated (well, except I did use canned pumpkin). Well, I also changed the baking temp/time...did 15 minutes at 425 degrees and then reduced oven to 350 degrees and baked for another 40-45 minutes. Couldn't wait to try it and when it had cooled for about 20 minutes, I cut into it. It was soft and dreamy/creamy in the center (even though a toothpick placed in the center came out clean) but not soupy as one other reviewer mentioned. The taste was simply devine! Loved the maple syrup taste!! Will make this again, but will reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup...the maple syrup alone might be enough to sweeten the pie and may try that next time. I prefer a less sweet pie, regardless of pumpkin, fruit, etc. Folks....ya just gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I live in New Zealand so I needed a recipe that used fresh pumpkin. This was easy to make and delicious! I cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup and cut out the ginger (only because I'm not a huge fan). Everyone loved it and was very impressed with the complexity of the flavours! I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
The
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This pie was delicious. My only substitution was to cut the brown sugar back to 1/3 cup. (Once I was out of cream and had to substitute 1 cup sour cream and 1/4 cream cheese and it still turned out yummy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
We really like this pie, it comes out great every time, and it is nice to use ingredients that are more natural. I have made it with gluten free crust, too. I'm still looking for a really great gf pie crust, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharon Fairchild Guerber
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My absolute favorite!! I just don't use allspice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Without a doubt the best pumpkin pie I have ever made (and I've made more than my fair share). I have been on the search for a great pie - and this is IT! I did decrease both maple syrup and brown sugar by 1/4 cup because of other reviews of to much sweet; and I had to use canned pumpkin. (Can't wait to try it with fresh!) This pie held together remarkably well, with very nice texture. I made another pumpkin as well, and it was... meh. This one was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this pie as part of my marathon pre-baking session to get as much of my Thanksgiving dinner done and frozen before hand surgery the week before Turkey Day and when I saw it listed as part of All Recipes' make-ahead menus I gave it a try. I was most concerned about whether to pre-bake or not as I only had experience with pre-freezing apple pies, not pumpkin. I checked around online and ascertained that in order to have success I should prepare and bake this pie as per the instructions in recipe then cool completely. Once completely cool I wrapped it well in plastic, then in foil then froze. It is essential that this pie not be frozen with any seafood or it will develop a seafood odor and taste. I took my pie out of the freezer on Monday night and began thawing it in the refrigerator for Thursday's dinner. It is essential to thaw the pie in the refrigerator and not at room temperature as at room temperature condensation will form on the outside of your pie (much like that which forms on the outside of a glass of ice water when it hits room temperature) and your crust will absorb this condensation and become soggy. If you thaw the pie in the fridge' no condensation forms hence no soggy crust. This pie was delicious and received rave reviews from my guests who were amazed it had spent a few weeks in deep freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I loved this recipe! It is so much better than the typical pumpkin pie. I differentiated it from the normal pumpkin pie by decorating it with a few maple leaves made out of pie crust. I had to add them after the pie had solidified a bit in the oven or they would have just sunk right in. The only change that I made was cheating and using canned pumpkin like some other reviewers suggested. Since I was making 7-8 different types of pies, this really sped up the baking process! It was still delicious, and I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Perfect blend of spices with maple syrup! Made two pies and brought one to the office where I work and my co-workers absolutely LOVED it! One of them mentioned that it would probably go well with a glass of wine so I'll have to try that at some point. I actually made the filling completely to the details of this recipe. Got a sugar pumpkin and made the puree myself and I was stoked to see that we had all the spices already in stock in our spice cabinet at home, as well as real maple syrup. I doubled the recipe so I still have pie filling left over to make more pies for Thanksgiving since we have several family members coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States