Pumpkin Maple Pie Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I read other reviews and took the advice of using 1/2c. brown sugar and I used canned pumpkin and everyone LOVED this pie! It was my first time using real maple syrup as a sweetener and it went over so well! A new staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I bake for my family alot. We did not like this recipe. I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I didn't taste maple, but I did taste a very gentle sweetness, perfectly balanced with pumpkin and spkce. I did make the adjustment someone else did--1 cup maple syrup and 1/3 cup brown sugar. And I only had canned pumpkin, so that's what I used. Evaporated milk, as well. This is my favorite pumpkin pie recipe to date! If it's this good with cans, think how good it will be with fresh ingredients! ***edited 11/24/2011 I made it in a bigger pan, 1-1/2 recipe, using 1-1/4 c maple syrup and not even 1/2 c brown sugar, rounded up to 5 eggs and used heavy cream and fresh pumpkin. Eyes lit up with the first bite! Definitely my best ever pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
While the pie was good, it takes a lot of maple syrup with little difference added to the flavour. For the extra money for just a touch more flavour, I'd rather just stick to an original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wow! This pie tasted great! I made this pie last weekend and it was my first time making or even tasting pumpkin pie. I made everything from scratch. Because it's impossible to find pumpkin puree where I live (Belgium), I was forced to make it myself. From one small pumpkin, I yielded about 4 cups of puree. I followed the recipe as written, but it took me a whole lot longer to make than 2Hrs and 30min. My pumpkin had to bake for approx. 2Hrs at 375, eventhough it was cubed. (It took me another 30min before I could bake the pumpkin, due to poor knife skills when handling a whole pumpkin.) For the pie crust I used the No Fail pie crust recipe III from this site. After baking I chilled it overnight, but I was too curious and ate a piece after 3Hrs of chilling. Let me tell you, it was worth the work. The taste is rich and incredible. The maple syrup really complements the pumpkin flavor. A comforting thought is that I now have some pumpkin puree left for the next pie. Thank you for such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I was super excited to make this pie, but it ended up not being the right pie for our family. It was very sweet, if I made it again I would cut the brown sugar at least down to 1/2 cup. The texture was the biggest thing my family had a problem with. It was too creamy? Soggy? The texture was a little better the 2nd day, but I think we prefer our pumpkin pies to be a little firmer. I hate to admit it, but I think the one on the Libby can is still my favorite recipe. . .maybe I can do something with it and maple syrup to get what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Really really good! Moist with great pumpkin flavor. A great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
My roommates devoured this the second I let them. The only thing is that you have to let it sit overnight for all the pumpkin filling to set. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Although this pie is delicious I don't think I'll make it again. You can't taste the maple syrup in it - so why waste maple syrup? It's too expensive!! I'll use a different recipe for pumpkin pie and just drizzle the maple syrup over the pie or put maple syrup in the whipping cream when serving to get the maple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie7

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
With this pie, you have to be prepared that it's not going to have a maple flavour- it's not supposed to. The syrup just gives it a nice sweetness that works perfectly with fresh pumpkin. It got rave reviews the last 2 years as 'the best pumpkin pie ever' and I don't feel the need to try any other recipes- this one is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States