Pumpkin Maple Pie Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Yummy pie!sole flavor was a bit strong for my taste but was perfect in every pumpkin pie way! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBERLEY1017

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Okay, so first I should state that I usually make a sweet potato pie for Thanksgiving, as I find pumpkin "boring". Well, NOT ANY MORE!!!!! Our guests took one bite and one asked "what restaurant did you used to work for? 'cause this is the best pumpkin pie I have ever had" One of my husbands favorites, he also thought it was one of the best Thanksgiving pies I have ever made. It did take longer to bake then stated, but that wasn't really an issue. I did use canned pumpkin, other than that I followed the recipe, adding extra spice, but I always do. Thanks for adding a new pie to my regime. I wonder how the addition of orange would be? hummm..........................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Its a good pie, but too sweet. I should have read more of the reviews and cut down on the brown sugar. I'm also not sure that using the maple syrup which is very expensive is really worth it. I eliminated the cloves and allspice since I don't like either one. The pie has a nice texture and flavor, but I don't consider it the ultimate pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I read other reviews and took the advice of using 1/2c. brown sugar and I used canned pumpkin and everyone LOVED this pie! It was my first time using real maple syrup as a sweetener and it went over so well! A new staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I bake for my family alot. We did not like this recipe. I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I didn't taste maple, but I did taste a very gentle sweetness, perfectly balanced with pumpkin and spkce. I did make the adjustment someone else did--1 cup maple syrup and 1/3 cup brown sugar. And I only had canned pumpkin, so that's what I used. Evaporated milk, as well. This is my favorite pumpkin pie recipe to date! If it's this good with cans, think how good it will be with fresh ingredients! ***edited 11/24/2011 I made it in a bigger pan, 1-1/2 recipe, using 1-1/4 c maple syrup and not even 1/2 c brown sugar, rounded up to 5 eggs and used heavy cream and fresh pumpkin. Eyes lit up with the first bite! Definitely my best ever pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
While the pie was good, it takes a lot of maple syrup with little difference added to the flavour. For the extra money for just a touch more flavour, I'd rather just stick to an original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wow! This pie tasted great! I made this pie last weekend and it was my first time making or even tasting pumpkin pie. I made everything from scratch. Because it's impossible to find pumpkin puree where I live (Belgium), I was forced to make it myself. From one small pumpkin, I yielded about 4 cups of puree. I followed the recipe as written, but it took me a whole lot longer to make than 2Hrs and 30min. My pumpkin had to bake for approx. 2Hrs at 375, eventhough it was cubed. (It took me another 30min before I could bake the pumpkin, due to poor knife skills when handling a whole pumpkin.) For the pie crust I used the No Fail pie crust recipe III from this site. After baking I chilled it overnight, but I was too curious and ate a piece after 3Hrs of chilling. Let me tell you, it was worth the work. The taste is rich and incredible. The maple syrup really complements the pumpkin flavor. A comforting thought is that I now have some pumpkin puree left for the next pie. Thank you for such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasselt, Limburg, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I was super excited to make this pie, but it ended up not being the right pie for our family. It was very sweet, if I made it again I would cut the brown sugar at least down to 1/2 cup. The texture was the biggest thing my family had a problem with. It was too creamy? Soggy? The texture was a little better the 2nd day, but I think we prefer our pumpkin pies to be a little firmer. I hate to admit it, but I think the one on the Libby can is still my favorite recipe. . .maybe I can do something with it and maple syrup to get what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Really really good! Moist with great pumpkin flavor. A great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States