Pumpkin Maple Pie Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Without a doubt the best pumpkin pie I have ever made (and I've made more than my fair share). I have been on the search for a great pie - and this is IT! I did decrease both maple syrup and brown sugar by 1/4 cup because of other reviews of to much sweet; and I had to use canned pumpkin. (Can't wait to try it with fresh!) This pie held together remarkably well, with very nice texture. I made another pumpkin as well, and it was... meh. This one was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this pie as part of my marathon pre-baking session to get as much of my Thanksgiving dinner done and frozen before hand surgery the week before Turkey Day and when I saw it listed as part of All Recipes' make-ahead menus I gave it a try. I was most concerned about whether to pre-bake or not as I only had experience with pre-freezing apple pies, not pumpkin. I checked around online and ascertained that in order to have success I should prepare and bake this pie as per the instructions in recipe then cool completely. Once completely cool I wrapped it well in plastic, then in foil then froze. It is essential that this pie not be frozen with any seafood or it will develop a seafood odor and taste. I took my pie out of the freezer on Monday night and began thawing it in the refrigerator for Thursday's dinner. It is essential to thaw the pie in the refrigerator and not at room temperature as at room temperature condensation will form on the outside of your pie (much like that which forms on the outside of a glass of ice water when it hits room temperature) and your crust will absorb this condensation and become soggy. If you thaw the pie in the fridge' no condensation forms hence no soggy crust. This pie was delicious and received rave reviews from my guests who were amazed it had spent a few weeks in deep freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I loved this recipe! It is so much better than the typical pumpkin pie. I differentiated it from the normal pumpkin pie by decorating it with a few maple leaves made out of pie crust. I had to add them after the pie had solidified a bit in the oven or they would have just sunk right in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Perfect blend of spices with maple syrup! Made two pies and brought one to the office where I work and my co-workers absolutely LOVED it! One of them mentioned that it would probably go well with a glass of wine so I'll have to try that at some point. I actually made the filling completely to the details of this recipe. Got a sugar pumpkin and made the puree myself and I was stoked to see that we had all the spices already in stock in our spice cabinet at home, as well as real maple syrup. I doubled the recipe so I still have pie filling left over to make more pies for Thanksgiving since we have several family members coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is such a great pumpkin pie recipe! Like most of the reviewers, I only had canned pumpkin, BUT I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar (instead if 3/4 cups, which would have been way too sweet for me)! I'm still rating this a full 5 stars, because other than that, the recipe is AMAZING, and I suppose the amount of sugar could be different if you make this with a fresh pumpkin. Be sure to make this with pure maple syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Quick and easy. I added a scoop of Maple Ice Cream and a 1/8 cup more Maple Syrup. Cooked for 20 min more or until firm. Yum Yum Yum Every body at work loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
As always, I made a few changes for funsies. I nixed the brown sugar entirely and left the maple syrup as is, though this may not work if you use canned pumpkin as it can be bitter. I make my own pumpkin puree on a regular basis with the large carving pumpkins and used that instead of the usual "sugar" pumpkin. They are lovely sweet pumpkins and lend a lot to the flavour profile. The texture and sweetness is perfection. I also made my own crust from scratch, which really made this the BEST PUMPKIN PIE EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great recipe. Thanks for posting one with REAL pumpkin. It was the first time I made a pie with real pumpkin and it turned out well. Followed the recipe as written. It turned out a little less-firm than I usually like, but it tasted great, esp. with a little whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My daughter and I made 5 these today easy and the family enjoyed them maple flavor is always a hit.Tomorrow we will make and freeze 7 pounds of it for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I have made this pie 4 times this year. It has now replaced my traditional pumpkin pie recipe that I was making for more than 10 years. If you expect strong maple flavor, you will be disappointed. The maple syrup simply replaces sugar as the sweetener, but conveys a smooth texture that I find pleasing. Alterations - I increased the amount of allspice to 1/4 teaspoon, and decreased the amount of brown sugar to 1/3 cup (the full amount of sugar suggested in the recipe along with 1/2 cup of maple syrup would yield an overly sweet pie. I received comments at Thanksgiving that the pie was still a little on the sweet side). When I process pumpkin, I usually use a neck pumpkin (looks like an overgrown butternut squash - widely available in central Pennsylvania, but I don't know how prolific they are in other areas). I cut the pumpkin in half lengthwise, remove the seeds (bake these with butter and salt for a nice snack) and place it on a foil lined baking sheet, tent with another sheet of foil, and bake for 350 for 1.5 hours. I remove the top sheet of foil and allow the pumkin halves to cool and scrape the pulp into a food processor to puree (I find working with the half pumpkins makes this step easy. I then place the pureed pumpkin in cheesecloth in a container with a strainer bottom and place the purred pumpkin in the fridge for 3 days draining when liquid accumulates. I find draining the pureed pumpkin yields a stronger flavor and better pie texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States