Pumpkin Maple Pie Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Excellent Pie. It was very creamy with a sweet flavor. (and I cheated and used canned pumpkin) Also, the recipe doesn't say to do so, but it really should be refrigerated before eating. I was impatient and cut into the pie when it came out of the oven and it was very soupy. After it was refrigerated it was fine. Rave review from co-workers and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I couldn't find a sugar pumpkin so I used a canned pumpkin puree. I used a homemade pie crust (no-fail pie crust III, from this site) & I used a little leaf fondant cutter to cut out leaves to decorate the pie crust. I used egg whites to "glue" the leaves on the crust & I wish I had sprinkled the leaves w/ some raw sugar to add a little sparkle...I will next time. Garnished w/a couple of extra leaves & some frosted cranberries. This pie tasted even better than it looks...it's fantastic! Served it w/ some maple flavored whipping cream ( I just added a bit of real maple syrup to fresh whipped cream as I am out of maple extract.) Thanks Carole Rhodus...thsi is probably the best pumpkin pie I have ever eaten (& I have eaten more than my fair share! LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Absolutely incredible! I made a couple of substitutions. I used canned pumpkin, evaporated milk in place of half/half, I also didn't use clove or allspice, but used fresh ground nutmeg and the cinnamon.I also used 1 Tablespoon of maple extract.(I didn't have enough maple syrup). This recipe just bursts with the "little extra" flavor! I am definately making this instead of my regular pumpkin recipe! It amazes me what a little maple flavor does to any ordinary recipe! UMM GOOD! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
EXCELLENT recipe -- it's now my favorite pumpkin pie. Works great with canned pumpkin. I put in only 1/2 cup brown sugar (instead of 3/4 cup), and it tasted just right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Highly recommended pie, I read the review and reduced the brown sugar. I had 1/2 package (4oz.) of cream cheese in the fridge so I added it and reduces light cream to 1 cup. The result was excellent. Mind you I had almost enough filling to fill in 2 9'pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Udo Rosenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I found this pie to be a little too sweet for my taste. If I were to make it again, I would definitely cut back on the sugar, and would use less ginger. The ginger was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This pie was FABULOUS. FOr the first time, I used the best of everything - fresh pumpkin puree, fresh spices (I ground the nutmeg and allspice myself), organic half-and-half, fresh whipped cream sweetened with maple syrup, and a tart pastry crust with an entire 1/2 lb. of organic butter. This pie was better than ANY pumpkin pie I've ever had (and got similar reviews from my husband and friends), and it now has a permanent place in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
The BEST pumpkin pie. We like it ever better when we replace the brown sugar with just a dollop of fancy molassas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I think 1/2 cup brown sugar would be better - it seemed a little too sweet .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Amazing! I would give this 10 STARS if I could! This is by far the best, creamiest, tastiest pumpkin pie I have ever eaten. First of all I have an abundance of butternut squash from my garden, so after I baked it and prcessed in my food processor, I used that instead of the sugar pumpkin. I also eliminated the3/4 cup of brown sugar. I can't imagine why you would need so much sugar in this recipe?? (We don't eat refined sugar anyway.) The only other change I made was to reduce the ginger and the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. I was afraid that it might be to much as written. As others noted it was very runny when I put it into the oven, but it solidified beautifully in the oven. All in all the end result was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States