Pumpkin Maple Pie Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Excellent Pie. It was very creamy with a sweet flavor. (and I cheated and used canned pumpkin) Also, the recipe doesn't say to do so, but it really should be refrigerated before eating. I was impatient and cut into the pie when it came out of the oven and it was very soupy. After it was refrigerated it was fine. Rave review from co-workers and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I couldn't find a sugar pumpkin so I used a canned pumpkin puree. I used a homemade pie crust (no-fail pie crust III, from this site) & I used a little leaf fondant cutter to cut out leaves to decorate the pie crust. I used egg whites to "glue" the leaves on the crust & I wish I had sprinkled the leaves w/ some raw sugar to add a little sparkle...I will next time. Garnished w/a couple of extra leaves & some frosted cranberries. This pie tasted even better than it looks...it's fantastic! Served it w/ some maple flavored whipping cream ( I just added a bit of real maple syrup to fresh whipped cream as I am out of maple extract.) Thanks Carole Rhodus...thsi is probably the best pumpkin pie I have ever eaten (& I have eaten more than my fair share! LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Absolutely incredible! I made a couple of substitutions. I used canned pumpkin, evaporated milk in place of half/half, I also didn't use clove or allspice, but used fresh ground nutmeg and the cinnamon.I also used 1 Tablespoon of maple extract.(I didn't have enough maple syrup). This recipe just bursts with the "little extra" flavor! I am definately making this instead of my regular pumpkin recipe! It amazes me what a little maple flavor does to any ordinary recipe! UMM GOOD! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
Highly recommended pie, I read the review and reduced the brown sugar. I had 1/2 package (4oz.) of cream cheese in the fridge so I added it and reduces light cream to 1 cup. The result was excellent. Mind you I had almost enough filling to fill in 2 9'pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
EXCELLENT recipe -- it's now my favorite pumpkin pie. Works great with canned pumpkin. I put in only 1/2 cup brown sugar (instead of 3/4 cup), and it tasted just right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I found this pie to be a little too sweet for my taste. If I were to make it again, I would definitely cut back on the sugar, and would use less ginger. The ginger was a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
The BEST pumpkin pie. We like it ever better when we replace the brown sugar with just a dollop of fancy molassas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This pie was FABULOUS. FOr the first time, I used the best of everything - fresh pumpkin puree, fresh spices (I ground the nutmeg and allspice myself), organic half-and-half, fresh whipped cream sweetened with maple syrup, and a tart pastry crust with an entire 1/2 lb. of organic butter. This pie was better than ANY pumpkin pie I've ever had (and got similar reviews from my husband and friends), and it now has a permanent place in my recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I think 1/2 cup brown sugar would be better - it seemed a little too sweet .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
After a long time of trying different pumpkin pie recipes that were good but not great, I have finally found The One. This is just as good as everyone says it is - even for those who aren't into pumpkin. I have made this pie several times and I do make 3 changes (sorry!). I use canned pumpkin (entire 15 oz. can), I decrease the brown sugar to 1/2 cup (the correct amount for you will depend on how sweet you like your pie and what kind of pure maple syrup you are using), and lastly I decrease the half and half to 1 cup (to shave off a little of the fat/calories). Really tasty - props to Carole for a pumpkin pie to eat any day of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States