Pumpkin Maple Pie Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is officially the new family recipe for pumpkin pie. The maple syrup gives it a unique and rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Delectable! Just the perfect amount of sweet, not overpowering like most other pumpkin pie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This pie was sensational! It has a wonderfully light custard quality... ate the last piece today (six days after Thanksgiving) and it was wonderful! I mistakenly baked it at 375 degrees... and the top bubbled and carmelized adding a nice crunchy coating on the top... this will now be the only way I'll make pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I served this at Thanksgiving dinner. It is interesting, people who normally love pumpkin pie were so-so with it, but some people who don't normally eat pumpkin loved it. I made as is and decided to try it with a graham cracker crust (I ran out of time to make a regular pie crust). It was not quite as heavy as other pumpkin pies I've made, which I really liked. Next time I will try it with some of the modifications others have listed too just to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My first real pumpkin pie that worked! This is a great recipe. I love maple syrup, but I did not think the taste was very strong--I used some 'real maple syrup' from one of the local apple orchards. Maybe next time I could add just a little maple extract. Anyway, great recipe, thanks! Oh, I used Never Never Fail Pie Pastry from this site for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I feel bad giving this 3 stars because it has the potential to be the best pumpkin pie ever. But, as the recipe is written, it's just too sweet. Next time I make it, I will reduce the brown sugar to 1/3 cup. I made this the night before Thanksgiving after reading all of the rave reviews; I had some extra filling left over, so I baked it in a pyrex dish. After it cooled and I tasted it, I realized it was waaaay to sweet to serve and wound up making another pie (using a different recipe) the next morning. On the up side, the mix of spices is wonderful; combined with the maple syrup, this is definitely not your average pumpkin pie. Just cut back on the sugar unless you like things very very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very good, but it definitely can stand to have the sugar cut. I used a half cup of brown sugar and it was still a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I think I'll just use the maple syrup. Also I didn't mix the eggs in enough and it came out with little baked egg pieces: an electric mixer (or whipping the eggs before adding them to the mix) is recommended! Another little idea: I used a graham-cracker crust and it turned out great! Fit very well with the cinnamon and ginger flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
i made this pie for thanksgiving and decreased the amount of sugar to 1/3 of a cup. my mom thought it was the best pumpkin pie she ever tasted and thinks it should be the new family recipe. everyone else agreed. it was scrumptious! after trying 4 other pies/cakes/tarts, my dad tried this pie and thought it was the best dessert of the night. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Hess
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is the best pumpkin pie ever! I have been making it every year for Thanksgiving for five years, (and a few Christmases, by request) My husband and his grandfather usually don't eat pumpkin pie, but they eat this one! I use canned pumpkin for it and it always turns out fine, next year I think I will try using a real pumpkin. I really think the maple syrup is what gives it the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Hess
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Nice pumpkin pie recipe- definitely "vintage" tasting. Very, very sweet- some may prefer to reduce the brown sugar to 1/2 cup or even less. The nutmeg flavor is also very strong, so some may prefer to reduce it to 1/2 teaspoon. Also, don't worry that the filling is liquidy when mixed- it will set once it's cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States