Pumpkin, Kale, and Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Fantastic hearty soup, we have 5 kids and the whole family loved it, even our 11 month old! I used chicken stock instead of beef and sausage instead of ham because that's what we had on hand. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Great recipe for the fall. I went to use my Cinderella pumpkin but it was bad so I used a butternut squash and it was delicious! I also used low sodium chicken broth since I didn't have beef broth on hand. And used some kielbasa instead of ham. I will definitely make this again and again. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Followed others advice and added pureed pumpkin, cumin, and coriander. This was a flavorful and hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Great recipe. I use the pre-packaged butternut squash from Trader Joes rather than pumpkin and I use 1 lb. of extra lean (4% fat) ground beef rather than pork so it ends up being low-fat, low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Hearty, delicious fall soup. I subbed in butternut squash and red wine vinegar and omitted sorrel (since I've never even heard of it). I also added couple cups of water near the end thinking it needed more broth. I will make again and try some of the other alternatives suggested here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Perfect for fall! Had a carry in at work and even those who thought it sounded too "healthy" were complimenting me! It's so delicious!! Thank you Always Cooking Up Something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very surprised by this stew.....very good with a refreshing flavor. My first time working with a pie pumpkin and loved the experience, even if it was lots of work! No changes to the recipe. I will add this to my fall soups to get in the spirit of fall here in Naples, FL. Thanks for putting this on the allrecipes site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I loved this stew! I had already roasted and pureed my winter squash, so I used that in place of the pumpkin chunks, and used white pepper instead of black pepper. Otherwise, I followed the instructions. Fantastic flavors and it made quite a lot of stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph C Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I swapped the beef broth for chicken and used cooked turkey instead of Ham. Also didn't have sorrel or sherry vinegar and this recipe was still delicious!!! So surprised how much flavor this has with really no seasoning at all. Will definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I love love this soup. I never grew up eating pumpkin, kale, or beans but wanted an interesting dish I could make and eat all week. After discovering this recipe, I have made it with ham, turkey ham, and chicken. All have turned out great. However, if you make it with chicken, you will need to add more salt. As suggested, I used one large can of 100% pumpkin puree out of the cake and baking isle of the store (much simpler than cutting up a pumpkin). I also buy the bag of pre-chopped kale greens rather than buying it then having to split and cut it.I never use sorrel or vinegar...mostly because I don't have any at home. It always turns out great. This is a healthy, hearty soup that is perfect for a cold winter day. Since it is just me at home, I freeze half of it and then put it in the refrigerator to thaw when I am ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States