Pumpkin, Kale, and Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookie
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Oh gosh! Everyone keeps giving me what is called a kabocha pumpkin..live on Maui. Wanted to use one and came across this recipe. FANTASTIC!!!! Had everything on hand and it came out FABULOUS! I added a little cumin and coriander. This is definitely a keeper, otherwise didn't change a thing. Big MAHALO for the recipe! !????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haiku, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Simple, filling and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Make with Rotel, rice wine vinegar and sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I swapped the beef broth for chicken and used cooked turkey instead of Ham. Also didn't have sorrel or sherry vinegar and this recipe was still delicious!!! So surprised how much flavor this has with really no seasoning at all. Will definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I loved this stew! I had already roasted and pureed my winter squash, so I used that in place of the pumpkin chunks, and used white pepper instead of black pepper. Otherwise, I followed the instructions. Fantastic flavors and it made quite a lot of stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph C Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very surprised by this stew.....very good with a refreshing flavor. My first time working with a pie pumpkin and loved the experience, even if it was lots of work! No changes to the recipe. I will add this to my fall soups to get in the spirit of fall here in Naples, FL. Thanks for putting this on the allrecipes site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Hearty, delicious fall soup. I subbed in butternut squash and red wine vinegar and omitted sorrel (since I've never even heard of it). I also added couple cups of water near the end thinking it needed more broth. I will make again and try some of the other alternatives suggested here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Perfect for fall! Had a carry in at work and even those who thought it sounded too "healthy" were complimenting me! It's so delicious!! Thank you Always Cooking Up Something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Great recipe. I use the pre-packaged butternut squash from Trader Joes rather than pumpkin and I use 1 lb. of extra lean (4% fat) ground beef rather than pork so it ends up being low-fat, low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Great recipe for the fall. I went to use my Cinderella pumpkin but it was bad so I used a butternut squash and it was delicious! I also used low sodium chicken broth since I didn't have beef broth on hand. And used some kielbasa instead of ham. I will definitely make this again and again. My husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States