Pumpkin Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I cut the recipe in half as this wouldn't transport well to send home w/ my kids. I too, used ginger snaps & think they are a must to the recipe. Vanilla wafers wouldn't add the same zing. I used a tsp. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the other spices...very yummy & perfect for a warmish fall day. Thansk Kristine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I too set out to get a recipe for "from scratch" ice cream, but why not skip that whole ice cream base process which basically yields vanilla ice cream. This recipe gives you a verrry pumpkin flavor. I added a package of cream cheese to tone it down a tiny bit and crushed graham crackers to give it that pumpkin cheesecake taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
I used ginger snaps instead of nilla wafers, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Amazing! I crushed the cookies in the bottom and then dumped all the ice cream on top! I would definetly recommend this recipe, it is very easy to make ahead of time and just take out of the freezer and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a delicious treat. I took it to a dinner party and everyone really like it. I made a few changes though, for the ginger snaps - I used Speculaas - b/c that is what we have that is similar here in Holland. Also, I couldn't find any pecans so I used walnut ice cream in place of the vanilla - that helped cut down on the cost side, too. I'd make this again - it was very good. I did half the recipe - and that came to about 1/2 liter of ice cream in case anyone is wondering. Also, I think it would be a good idea to skip the cookies and just put it in a pre-baked cookie pie crust and top it with whipped cream. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great recipe! I made this for Thanksgiving along with the crackle top molasses cookies from this site, which I absolutely love. I was about to give it a four star rating because of the nilla wafers... doesn't sound appetizing... but other than that, the recipe is simple and delicious. I used less sugar than called for and served the cookies a la mode. Yum! Best Thanksgiving dessert ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this last night and served it at a brunch this AM. I used the ginger snaps and I was on the phone when I was making it so I forgot to mix the pecans in the ice cream so I just sprinkled them on top. Very Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyCookPhyll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was really easy and better than any pumpkin ice cream I've ordered anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I first made this 4 years ago for a dessert contest at work and won the "golden spoon!" Since then, I've had several request each year to bring it back. Very easy! I use gingersnaps and walnuts and mix with Blue Bell, if you can get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Delicious and easy!! Instead of canned pumpkin, I used fresh pumpkin. It's very easy--slice, then bake the pumpkin for 35 minutes (or until the pumpkin is soft) at 375 degrees (F) in a small amount of water. Scoop the flesh out, then puree with an immersion blender or food processor. I used the same amount of fresh pumpkin (15 oz).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States