Pumpkin Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I too set out to get a recipe for "from scratch" ice cream, but why not skip that whole ice cream base process which basically yields vanilla ice cream. This recipe gives you a verrry pumpkin flavor. I added a package of cream cheese to tone it down a tiny bit and crushed graham crackers to give it that pumpkin cheesecake taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I originally wanted a recipe for making pumpkin ice cream from scratch, but this is much easier. It's like getting more & healthier ice cream than you started out with! I skipped the cookie layers - the ice cream is excellent alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VegGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
I used ginger snaps instead of nilla wafers, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Amazing! I crushed the cookies in the bottom and then dumped all the ice cream on top! I would definetly recommend this recipe, it is very easy to make ahead of time and just take out of the freezer and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
1 cup of sugar way too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was pretty good. All I had was a 30oz can of pumpkin pie mix so I omitted the spices and ended up adding a little more pumpkin than it said. I used the remaining pumpkin in a simple syrup to pour over the top. I didn't layer it with the cookies or anything and just refroze it and scooped it up. I'll make this again for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This is not for everyone - but for those who like the taste of fall -- SO GOOD. I used gingersnaps and did one batch with a quality vanilla ice cream and the other with a European walnut ice cream. The walnut ice cream was by far the favorite of the more gourmet tastebuds - i think the vanilla made it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was delicious! I used ginger snaps and followed the recipe exact. It is great for potluck dinners because it makes a lot. Plus it was nice to have something different, that not many people have tried before. Would definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
My family did not like this. :( For us it was too many textures going on (crunchy pecans, softer cookies, creamy ice cream) and the pumpkin flavor was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe was amazing! It tasted like pumpkin pie and it had a lovely texture! I omitted the nuts and wafers (I don't like wafers and my sisters don't like nuts) and I'm actually really glad I did. This would be a great dessert for Halloween or Thanksgiving or even Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fload

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States