Pumpkin Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
I used ginger snaps instead of nilla wafers, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was delicious! I used ginger snaps and followed the recipe exact. It is great for potluck dinners because it makes a lot. Plus it was nice to have something different, that not many people have tried before. Would definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I cut the recipe in half as this wouldn't transport well to send home w/ my kids. I too, used ginger snaps & think they are a must to the recipe. Vanilla wafers wouldn't add the same zing. I used a tsp. of pumpkin pie spice instead of the other spices...very yummy & perfect for a warmish fall day. Thansk Kristine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a delicious treat. I took it to a dinner party and everyone really like it. I made a few changes though, for the ginger snaps - I used Speculaas - b/c that is what we have that is similar here in Holland. Also, I couldn't find any pecans so I used walnut ice cream in place of the vanilla - that helped cut down on the cost side, too. I'd make this again - it was very good. I did half the recipe - and that came to about 1/2 liter of ice cream in case anyone is wondering. Also, I think it would be a good idea to skip the cookies and just put it in a pre-baked cookie pie crust and top it with whipped cream. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I originally wanted a recipe for making pumpkin ice cream from scratch, but this is much easier. It's like getting more & healthier ice cream than you started out with! I skipped the cookie layers - the ice cream is excellent alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VegGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
The pecans were a great touch!!! I wouldn't make any changes, except the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Great recipe! I made this for Thanksgiving along with the crackle top molasses cookies from this site, which I absolutely love. I was about to give it a four star rating because of the nilla wafers... doesn't sound appetizing... but other than that, the recipe is simple and delicious. I used less sugar than called for and served the cookies a la mode. Yum! Best Thanksgiving dessert ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was pretty good. All I had was a 30oz can of pumpkin pie mix so I omitted the spices and ended up adding a little more pumpkin than it said. I used the remaining pumpkin in a simple syrup to pour over the top. I didn't layer it with the cookies or anything and just refroze it and scooped it up. I'll make this again for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very good, but I freeze a prepared pie crust and then break it up and mix it in the ice cream and freeze...awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I too set out to get a recipe for "from scratch" ice cream, but why not skip that whole ice cream base process which basically yields vanilla ice cream. This recipe gives you a verrry pumpkin flavor. I added a package of cream cheese to tone it down a tiny bit and crushed graham crackers to give it that pumpkin cheesecake taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States