Pumpkin Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe turned out very good after a couple of modifications. I added 1 tsp of cayane pepper, 1/4 tsp paparika and a 1/2 tsp of cumin to give it more of a kick. I also used canned garbanzo beans, drained. It didn't need the extra liquid. Next time I would reduce the lemon juice to juice of 1 lemon. It was a bit too tart and I didn't even add the 5 oz. My 8 and 5 year olds liked this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I love anything with pumpkin in it but I was a little skeptical about this. I cut the recipe in half and used a 29 ounce can of chickpeas. That seemed to be a good ratio because it tastes excellent. My husband loves it too and he tends to dislike things that are nontraditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerkstr4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I love that there is a healthy alternative for holiday food. I made this hummus for a Halloween potluck. As is, it is a neat mixture between sweet and savory. I will also try it with the cayenne, paprika, and cumin as recommended to see if it turns out differently. I did add about a teaspoon of salt in order to bring out the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CertifiedMoxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Oh, man how I love hummus, and I've never been able to get it just exactly right when making it at home. That changed with this recipe! I gave this 5 stars with the admission that I didn't care much for the pumpkin pie spices and will not use them next time I make this. I divided the ingredients into 2 batches because it wouldn't all fit in my blender, but forgot the spices with the first. It tasted divine! Next go-round I remembered the spice, but was disappointed in the result. I didn't bother adding spice to the other half, so the flavor was diluted by the time I combined the mixtures. To further cover it up, I added a couple dashes of cayenne and paprika. OMG this was spectacular! The pumpkin flavor is VERY subtle, but adds a creamy texture and richness that definitely makes it a worthwhile addition. (Healthy, too!). Definitely remember to add salt to taste at the end to help bring out the flavors. You can't believe how much this small addition helps things along! After reading other reviews, I held off on the full 5oz of lemon juice and added it gradually to taste instead. With the omission of the spices, this is now my go-to for hummus. I made this as a dip with pita triangles for a farewell potluck at work, and my biggest challenge will be to stay out of it long enough for my coworkers to get any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
YUM! I was skeptical, but I had some leftover roasted pumpkin and the reviews won me over. I couldn't stop eating this! Aside from using fresh pumpkin, the only change I made was to use two cans of chickpeas. The best way I can describe the flavor is like a savory eggnog (weird, I know). And the texture is so smooth and creamy--the smoothest I've ever made. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe. I incresed the spice to 3/4 tsp each and added a considerable amount of cayenne pepper. With these modifications, this is the best hummus I've ever had. I love the pumpkin flavor. I've made this twice in the past three months. The second time I doubled the recipe. Even without doubling, it makes a lot. However, it freezes very well. SOOOO much better than store bought hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I did not care for this recipe mostly because of the cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. I enjoy more traditional flavors for hummus. Not sure if I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCrazyPam49

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This recipe was pretty good, definatley not for the safety-food crowd. I left out the tahini and lemon.I would add the lemon next time. It was really great on pita chips, pumkin dinner rolls, and unsalted seed crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I thought it was good, but I'm not sure it's something I would make again. I like other flavors of hummus better. I'm pretty picky about hummus though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLIIZZZ07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very good, everyone liked it. I added cumin for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States