Pumpkin Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe turned out very good after a couple of modifications. I added 1 tsp of cayane pepper, 1/4 tsp paparika and a 1/2 tsp of cumin to give it more of a kick. I also used canned garbanzo beans, drained. It didn't need the extra liquid. Next time I would reduce the lemon juice to juice of 1 lemon. It was a bit too tart and I didn't even add the 5 oz. My 8 and 5 year olds liked this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This recipe was pretty good, definatley not for the safety-food crowd. I left out the tahini and lemon.I would add the lemon next time. It was really great on pita chips, pumkin dinner rolls, and unsalted seed crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I love that there is a healthy alternative for holiday food. I made this hummus for a Halloween potluck. As is, it is a neat mixture between sweet and savory. I will also try it with the cayenne, paprika, and cumin as recommended to see if it turns out differently. I did add about a teaspoon of salt in order to bring out the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CertifiedMoxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This pumpkin hummus was great! I made this recipe as is, but I added quite a bit more pumpkin so there would be a stronger pumpkin flavor. I took this to a Halloween party last night, and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reeders, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very good, everyone liked it. I added cumin for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is a real winner--my boyfriend and I loved it. And it's so easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Good stuff--lots of different flavors to focus on with each bite. Don't forget the salt like I did though! It does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Okay, so the taste was pretty good. I took others' suggestions and added cumin...pretty good but not sure if it was necessary. My only complaint is that this was a complete mess! I don't know why but this made enough to feed an army! All of the ingredients were overflowing in the blender. It was not exactly what I had in mind. If I make it again (*doubtful), I will definitely scale it back quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe. I incresed the spice to 3/4 tsp each and added a considerable amount of cayenne pepper. With these modifications, this is the best hummus I've ever had. I love the pumpkin flavor. I've made this twice in the past three months. The second time I doubled the recipe. Even without doubling, it makes a lot. However, it freezes very well. SOOOO much better than store bought hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
OK I agree. This is very good for the season and so easy. Everyone is impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States