Pumpkin Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Not a huge fan of this recipe without tweaks, but I feel like its not because its a bad recipe, but more of depends on you taste buds kinda thing. I ended up drastically decreasing the spices and lemon juice. I increased the garlic, plus added garlic powder (I love garlic), added cumin, more salt, and chipotle powder. I think I'm just not a fan of sweet hummus, but to each his own, it was great inspiration as I never would have considered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Added pepper, extra garlic and creamy peanut butter. Taste creamy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by something new

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Simply delicious!! We're dieting at home and having hummus ready is a great snack alternative to eat with veggies. I used a whole bag of dry garbanzos cooked in the pressure cooker and a large can of pumpkin puree (don't like to waste and that's all I had on hand), sauteed the garlic, and skipped the tahini since didn't have any, added pumpkin pie spices. I adjusted all the spices to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe is awesome! I halved the recipe and even with just 2 cans of chick peas, I still used the whole 15 oz can of pumpkin. Also added 1/4 tsp cayenne. It is a great consistency and just plain yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is delicious! Will definitely make again. Took to a gathering with kids/adults and everyone loved it. I did take the advice on the "adds" and it couldn't have been better. Served with fresh pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My kids and I LOVED this recipe! Although I like to make everything from scratch, my time is pretty limited right now, so I added the pumpkin and spices to a pre-made container of hummus. Needless to say, it turned out amazing! Not to mention, it was SO quick and easy. Huge recommendation- serve with Stacy's cinnamon flavored pita chips, it perfectly compliments the hummus!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacyzola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was a hit at Thanksgiving, and could be served any time really. I added cayenne pepper, fresh ginger, ginger powder and more garlic to give it more zing and it was perfect. I also used canned chick peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
delicious, and unique -- I used a can of chickpeas, much easier, and added cumin and paprika, as well as more of every spice. great with pita or crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I found this to be very bland, even with the pumpkin spices. But in fairness, I did start with a plain store-bought hummus instead of making it by scratch. I prefer hummus that's really garlic-y though, and since I didn't think that tons of garlic would go well with pumpkin, I bought a plain flavor. The spices and pumpkin puree didn't really add enough flavor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This recipe was surprisingly good! The guests we made this for absolutely loved it, and were very taken by the harmony of flavors. My wife and I will definitely experiment with cumin and cayenne like others here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dannyyamamotojr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States