Pumpkin Hummus, Caramelized Onion and Fontina Cheese Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Awesome combination of flavors and great new addition to our make-pizza-at-home nights! A few suggestions as we modified by 1) making the quick hummus, 2) cutting recipe in half, and 3) placing on pizza dough. About 2/3 of the hummus/pumpkin mixture suggested is actually needed (2/3 of 16 oz container of hummus and 1/3 can of pumpkin will do the trick). I added chopped fresh sage. Less fontina cheese is needed as this is an extremely soft, melty cheese. To avoid soupy texture, I'd suggest 2 c. max if you half the recipe or are making one 10" pizza. Caramelizing onions in olive oil almost never works right as olive oil gets to a higher temperature faster than butter. I'd recommend subbing out butter instead. Comes out better and takes much less time. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very unique, love the sweet and savory flavor. They freeze pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I made this recipe forgetting to put apples in it... and it was still awesome. My hubby said it was in the top five pizzas he has ever had. He was my guinea pig for sampling possibly Halloween Party recipes. It will definitely be served! We love it, it was just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matheson, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Wow. After a lot of work we were really let down on this one. We have a varied taste for everything and wanted this to be good. But it just was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrena Ramsey
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was AMAZING. I would rate it 10 stars if I could. It was bursting with flavor and the textures really complimented each other. My only gripe was that it took a long time to make - it was worth it though. If you can make the hummus ahead of time that would really help. I can't wait to make this again for a small dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was a great recipe! I used whole-wheat pre-baked pizza crusts and substituted prochuttio for the bacon and it was delicious! I made the pizzas for a Halloween party and everyone raved. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Excellent. Was a little skeptical about the ingredients, but they blended together wonderfully. I did have to make my own pumpkin puree and hummus indivuidually but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this for church and it was a BIG HIT. I mixed a small can of pumkin with a small container of hummus. I used 2 pre-made thin-crust pizza shells similiar to foccacia in that they had herbs already added. Everything else was the same except the cheese...couldn't find fontina so I used some grated sharp chedder. So happy this is such a versatile recipe that allows me to substitute and it still turns out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This sure sounded good, but OMG! I couldn't find fontina, so used gouda and used whole wheat pitas instead of lavash. I also used prosciutto too, but bacon would be just as good. Oh - and if you are lazy like me, the apples are fine with the skin on. So yummy - and good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This recipe is INCREDIBLE! A perfect balance of tangy, sweet, and salty. I made this for our dinner club, and everyone asked for the recipe. I used homemade pizza crust and store bought bacon bits. I made the pumpkin hummus by mixing equal amounts of hummus and canned pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States