Pumpkin Gobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING! The cookies are incredibly most and the flavor is perfect! I made them for the first time tonight and I'm extremely pleased with the turn out. I read the reviews before making them, so instead of the filling that the recipe called for I used my vanilla butter cream recipe instead. I was also out of baking soda so I doubled the baking powder and used pumpkin spice instead of the cinnamon. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
The pumpkin gobs are very moist and tasty however, the icing was horrible! The sugar never dissolves. I beat the icing for 40 minutes and it still never creamed into the mixture. I had to use another icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I am a bit torn as to how to rate this recipe. The cookie part is quite good... the filling is rather atrocious. I had a feeling it would be, but wanted to try the recipe as written. I don't prefer my gobs to be crunchy, and that is exactly what happened here. I would make the cookie part again, add more spices to it (pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg- something to boost the flavor just a tad), and make an entirely different filling. I'm not trying to be harsh...it is just that this filling does not work on any level. On the plus side, my house smelled deliciously like Fall and, after scraping the filling off, we still enjoyed the cookies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I am working on this recipe as i type this and so far i am happy with the results i am getting. I however did not go with the icing recipe that is posted. I used my own which i sware is amazing. 1/2 C crisco 4 C powdered sugar 1 egg white 1tsp vanilla and adding a little bit of milk at a time till it's a nice creamy mixture. This icing taste amazing and by adding the milk it not only makes it smooth but takes away from some of the overwhelming sweetness of the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
The cookies and the cream filling both weren't that sweet, so if you want a cookie with not that much sweetness, you would like this. I'm not saying they weren't good, just not sweet. I tried it a second time, adding maybe a teaspoon of nutmeg and almost a bag of white chocolate chips and they were better. I know the additions arent approximate, just use your better judgement. Also, I didn't bother with the cream filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I found this recipe in Reader's Digest, and the filling there was cream cheese icing. Much better, in my opinion! These cookies are crazy-good and beloved by all who try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
The cookies are amazing, the icing ended up tasting like melted Peeps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
good recipe to start with..i added nutmeg, and cloves and more sugar. I passed on the recipe for the filling and used the AR recipe cream cheese frosting II for the center..it was a HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My husband loves these! He doesn't even need the icing...and he loves icing. I have to agree these are really tasty. I made one change and that was to use two teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and leave out the teaspoon of cinnamon. I have been making these for the past 3 years for the fall holidays and there are never any left to share with neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This isn't quite a cookie. It's a small cake drop, which is great to dip in frosting or apple butter. Just by looking at the recipe as written, I knew to not even bother with that awful sounding frosting mixture, to substitute shortening for the butter in the batter and to ABSOLUTELY increase the spices. I put in 1/2 tbsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cloves and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice. They turned out awesome that way, but they still aren't cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States