Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I tried making this bread on a random autumn day a few years ago. Since then i have made this recipe for nearly every event in the fall for friends and family of all ages. There are never leftovers! Easy, delicious, and great for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I took other reviewers advice and cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. Very good, got rave reviews from everyone who had it. My father-in-law declared it was "absolutely fantastic" and that says alot coming from him and he doesn't like pumpkin, that's why i didn't tell him it was in there until he had some. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Take the ever popular, wildly popular Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread, and just vary the spices a little bit, most importantly with a heftier measurement of ginger, and you've got this Pumpkin Gingerbread. The recipes are essentially the same. But would I like the added ginger in this recipe? Yes I do! This is moist, pleasantly spiced and, just as I enjoy with the Downeast Maine recipe, includes no nuts,raisins, applesauce or...whatever. Just plain ol' darn good pumpkin bread. So if you're torn between the two recipes make either one and you'll be happy and equally satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Fantastic bread! Was easy to make and tasted delicious. Even better the next day when the spices made it more flavourful. We had it with just butter but it would be even better with a cream cheese spread or even icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Made half with raisins and half without. I actually like the bread with the raisins best. But both were great. Used a cinnamon cream cheese spread on some slices and boy was it yummy! Used 1.5 times the seasonings. Baked at 325 as recommended by others. Made one large loaf and three minis. Nicely done frosty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I made this in the hopes that it would be more like a pumpkin bread than a gingerbread, and I was not disappointed. This is very moist and dense, just as I always feel a pumpkin bread should be, and it has a great flavor. I may have used slightly more pumpkin that needed (I only made one loaf, since I was low on sugar, and I eyeballed half the can of pumpkin), but either way, it tastes great, and has just the texture I was looking for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! Don't wait until Christmas to make this bread. It is good anytime. I added raisins because I love raisins in my pumpkin bread. I served with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
The only change I made was to replace the oil with applesauce, but the flavor really fell short for us. The ginger stood out, but was unbalanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is a wonderful, flavorful bread that my co-workers couldn't resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is pretty darn close to the one sold at Starbucks! I followed recipe except for the allspice (I don't have any so I subbed with cinnamon/nutmeg/clove combo). I did reduce temp to 325 (I have a crazy electric stove) and did bake about 10 mins longer. SOOOOOOOOOO GOOD! Thank you! VERY MOIST too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 935) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States