Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Love love love this bread! I tend to double the spices on most recipes and this is no exception. Sometimes I throw some candied ginger bits (about 1/4 cup) for some extra texture and bite. I also agree to lower the temp to 325 and cook for an hour and 15 to 25 minutes. Is starts to smell a little scorched, but after it cools it doesn't taste like it at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I only gave this three stars as I feel like this recipe doesn't allow the bread much pumpkin flavor to come through. My favorite things to bake are pumpkin, banana and apple breads and this recipe called for entirely too much sugar, and I can't say it enough little pumpkin flavor. I have tried the Downeast Maine Pumpkin bread recipe and I prefer that much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I grew up with my mom making this recipe weekly. I've carried on that tradition and everyone who tries it absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was able to make this gluten free by using a store bought GF flour mix. I also only put in 2C sugar. I baked it as directed and it was perhaps a few minutes too long. I would perhaps add a little bit more spice but that's just personal preference... my friends enjoyed it as is :) Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This recipe was perfect! I made it according to the recipe exactly and will not change a thing. I used a loaf pan for half of the batter and baked the rest in an acorn tartlet pan for 15 minutes at 350. Turned out so well. I'm having a hard time staying away from them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meggy1017

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I am glad I read the reviews first. I made some adjustments. I reduced the sugar by half and replaced half of that with brown sugar. I didn't include ginger and doubled the rest of the spices. I added maple syrup and reduced water to 1/4 one loaf. I also added a streusel/pecan crust which was amazing. (3 tbl flour, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 tspn cinnamon and 1/4 cup chopped pecans. Cut in small slivers/chunks butter and sprinkle on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Read the reviews and this is an awesome recipe. I did use 1/2 wheat & 1/2 white flour and I also only used 2 cups of sugar. It turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
My neighbor gave me a loaf of excellent gingerbread and when I asked her for the recipe, she pointed me here. Such a tender loaf. I used to think gingerbread loaves were awful, but clearly I hadn't tried a good one until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Oh yeah! This is the pumpkin bread/muffin recipe I have been looking for. I made muffins, baked for 20-25 minutes. The kids devoured them. Sorry, but this one is just better than the Downeast Maine recipe - it has more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States