Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
9/15/2014 - Made this today with some changes as recommended by others. Baked at 325 instead of 350. I decreased sugar to 1 3/4 cups using half dark brown and half white. I replaced half of the oil with cinnamon applesauce and used olive oil for the other half. I also increased spices by about half and added some freshly grated nutmeg. Cooled to handle and wrapped while still slightly warm. Beautifully moist and intensely spiced and absolutely delicious. Thanks for recipe and suggestions for changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I discovered this recipe last year and made it multiple times. Success and raves with each loaf. It also freezes well when wrapped appropriately. It is currently mid-September and this recipe is most welcomed! Thank-you for its submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Yes so good, but the 2nd time I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white instead of two white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
What a yummy recipe! My son and I made this together. He normally doesn't like anything pumpkin, yet loved this bread! We even freshly ground some cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. We also cut back on the sugar to 1 cup sugar and 1 1/2 cups Splenda and couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe almost as listed with the exception i made a 1/2 batch and muffins instead of loaves. As a pumpkin bread alone I think this is a good recipe. However, I did not think it was the mix of gingerbread and pumpkin I was wanting. The muffins came out nice and moist/fluffy. They did have a good taste. I would make these again and maybe next time add more ginger as some of the other reviewers stated. On another note, I did not find them too sweet as other reviewers have stated. *Edit* I came out with 17 regular sized muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very moist and very simple. I used whole wheat flour and fresh, frozen pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
it was soooooooo Delicious with a capital D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it tasted like she turned pumpkin pie in to a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lometa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
My family and friends love this cake and are always asking me when I'm going to make it again. I replace the water with Guinness for a little extra richness and dust the top with powered sugar. Also bake it in a bundt pan (70-75 minutes) for larger parties or in mini-loaf pans for gift giving (about 35 minutes). We often have fresh pumpkin available so I use that instead of canned pumpkin for a wonderful texture. Love, love, love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used milk instead of water and substituted a mixture of molasses, butter, and applesauce for the oil. Other than that, I made as written. I cut the recipe in half and got one large loaf. It rose well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe at Christmas and it was a "lip-smacking" success! Everyone, young and old, marvelled at how moist it was. I added fresh-grated ginger and dried cranberries, to rave reviews. Had to make several batches. Pumpkin Gingerbread is now a new Christmas tradition for our family. Thank you, Allrecipes.com!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States