Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I've been making this pumpkin recipe for years, it is the same recipe I found in a church cookbook given to me about 20 years ago and it is by far the best! You can add more or less of the spices to suit your taste with no problem. The only thing I would most definately change is the cooking temp. If you use a large 9x5 pan, cook at 325 or the bottom and sides will be hard and dried out, if not burned by the time the middle is cooked. Bake at 325 for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Also, you can get 7 mini loaves out of this recipe which is great for gift giving. Cook time on the mini loaves is about 45 at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
678 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Extremely easy recipe, which makes it especially nice for the holidays, when we all have plenty of other things to do! Moist and delicious. I recommend stirring the spices into the dry ingredients, rather than the wet. The ground cloves tend to clump a little bit in the wet ingredients, and nobody likes to get a mouthful of clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This bread was easy to make and delicious. It was a little too sweet for me. In the future I might add only 2 or 2.5 cups sugar. But others seemed to like it as is. Also my bread took nearly 1.5 hours to bake (for the center to cook). Coming out of the oven the outside was very dry but the inside very moist. I wrapped the loaves in foil overnight, still warm, and by morning, including the crust, the loaves were very moist. The bread got rave reviews overall so the recipe is a keeper I'm sure I'll make again. Great for the fall/winter holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Awesome recipe, I have been looking for a recipe that mathces the Starbucks gingerbread and here it is. I substituted 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, applesauce for the oil and egg beaters for the eggs. But I did add cream cheese frosting and candied ginger on top. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This is really good and moist. I made it for Christmas in a 10" well-greased tube pan. Everybody loved it. I used a simple glaze on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
i doubled the spices and added 1tsp clove, and i had people that normally don't like pumpkin-anything asking when i'd bake this again, excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This bread is WONDERFUL. I like pumpkin bread to begin with but this is SO VERY good! I used the receipe as stated and it made 10 mini loaves. Perfect for gift giving! It smells so good when it is cooking too! Highly recommend this receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This was a beautiful bread that raised perfectly. I made 7 mini loaves and 1 big loaf for an upcoming bake sale. Im sure this will be the first to go! Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
My family loved this! I put some cream cheese icing on it and wow! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
An absolutely fabulous bread - easily my favorite. Incredibly moist and spiced with just enough ginger. Perfect for winter breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 935) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States