Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Halved the cloves. Cut down on the sugar. Added a tsp of dried orange rind and some chopped walnuts. Home-roasted pumpkin. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Absolutely fabulous taste and presentation. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This has become a family favorite for every holiday meal. I have made it as loaves, as mini loaves (Bake 22 min.; makes 16), as muffins (Bake 17 min.), and as mini-muffins (Bake 12-14 min.; makes 14 dozen). I usually bake one large loaf, and another smaller form to share. My great-nieces love the mini-muffins they can pop into their happy mouths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made two moist and delicious loaves of this pumpkin gingerbread for the Thanksgiving holidays. Followed the recipe as written with the exception of using my own pumpkin puree and adding in a cup of miniature chocolate chips. I also drizzled a powdered sugar glaze made from powdered sugar, milk and vanilla extract over the top of each loaf. Everyone loved it with several people saying it was the best they had ever eaten. Thanks frosty for sharing your keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I agree with Granny,increase the spices. Made 36 muffins baked at 325 for 20 min. I will make this again for sure, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greely, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone who had a piece wanted the recipe. I changed it up a little: instead of 2/3 cup water, I substituted 1/3 cup water with bourbon! I may also add raisins the next time and soak them in an alcohol for that: "...hmmm, what is that delicious back flavor?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this 3 days ago and it was a huge hit with my boys. We loved it. The texture was perfect, moist and oh so delicious. It was quite spicy, but it IS a gingerbread. It's already been requested that I make more. This one is a holiday keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florida Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I make this using a gluten free mixture of almond meal(1/2 the amount) and brown rice flour(1/2 the amount). I also agree that it is way too sweet so i've lessened the sugar content down to 3/4 cup. It is absolutely delicious & my kids preschool class even loved it! making more right now. oh, we also use fresh ginger sometimes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I would recommend TRIPLING the spice content. I doubled it and it still wasn't enough. I also cut the sugar by 1/3 and the oil by half and used applesauce instead. I was pleased with the results, it tasted especially good the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I agree with the comment by REMITA - easy to make and generally tasty, but a little bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 940) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States