Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This bread is yummy! I did as others suggested and turned the oven down to 325. I also cut the sugar down from 3 cups to 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce as well and doubled the ginger, allspice, and cinnamon. I used 1 3/4 fresh pumpkin puree instead of canned. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The bread came out near perfect. I thought it could have used a crunch such as nuts or raisins added to it, or a sprinkle of sugar on top during the baking process. Cooked it at 325 for 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Perfectly balanced with spice and texture. Very tasty and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeachyKeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
First I want to say that if you change the recipe but give it 5 stars you are not accurately rating this recipe. You are rating your own, so put your own recipe on this site for other reviewers to pick apart and rate based on their changes. Ok, this recipe was absolutely perfect. I made as written with no changes and my whole family loved it. I think if I had added more spices as other reviewers did it would have overwhelmed the pumpkin flavor. This was moist and delicious and perfectly spiced. Thank you for this recipe. This is now a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunshine Griffin Duffy
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Great recipe! Made whole house smell lovely. I made the following changes: used coconut oil in lieu of veggie oil; used 1 tbsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of 1 tsp each cinnamon, cloves, and all spice; used 2c wheat flour and 1 1/2c white all purpose; divided sugar into 1c coconut palm sugar, 1c brown sugar, 1c raw sugar. Used pumpkin seed, b sugar, and butter as a crumble on top. Recipe made 3 dozen small muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Very moist and flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Yum! Moist, spicy, easy to prepare. Works beautifully in a bundt pan. I substituted coconut oil, and cut back the sugar to 2 cups per others' suggestions. I used half coconut sugar as well, which seemed to add a depth to the gingerbread. Next time I may cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, cause it's still plenty sweet. Oh, and I did bake at 325 for 1 1/2 hours. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Substituted apple sauce for oil, only used 1 cup of brown sugar, used 1.5 cups of ground oatmeal, 1 cup of almond flour and 1 cup of all-purpose flour rather than 3.5 of all-purpose. Cooked batter in muffin tins and they turned out great! Cooked muffins for about 25 minutes, but be careful not to overcook or they will be fairly dry. Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This bread is delish! I cut the recipe to 1 loaf but still used the whole can of pumpkin. I added slightly more cinnamon and ginger than called for based on my tastes and other reviews. It was so moist - loved it! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I really liked the ginger addition to this bread. I had some leftover frosting from Paul's Pumpkin Bars and tried it with a slice of bread. Also tried with some butter. Whether plain, frosted, or with butter, the bread alone was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States