Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
When I made this is turned out delicious! Here are some changes I made: 1) I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil (to be healthier) This made the batter thicker, but in the end it turned out alright. 2) I added 1 tsp. nutmeg, and I doubled all of the other spices. 3) I kept the amount of baking soda the same, but I put in a full teaspoon of Baking Powder instead of just 1/2 of a teaspoon. It made the bread fluffier. This recipe was an all around favorite! Definitely 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I agree with some other feedbacks: it is way too much sugar. Spices are not enough and you can not taste any ginger. Salt is not necessary at all. I added only 1 cup brown sugar, more spices, fresh ginger and fresh shredded pumpkin flesh. It turned great after the changes. Tip: for pumpkin flesh don`t use the pie pumpkin( flesh is too hard) but the big one that you want to carve. Remove flesh with a spoon and put into the dough. It has a juicy flesh and resolves when mixed with other ing. Way better as can :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was fantastic, but I would say they turned out "unexpectedly fantastic." Let me explain. I opted to use 5 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of adding the spices separately. However, in a moment of preggo-brain, I accidentally added "apple pie spice" instead. Good thing I tasted the batter before I stuck it in the oven because it tasted terrible! I then compensated by adding another 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp. cloves, and a pinch salt. I wasn't sure what to expect when I tried it out of the oven but it was amazing! My family loved it so much they begged me to make it again the same week and I ended up doing it exactly the same way (apple pie spice plus added ginger and cloves) on purpose this time. Great recipe that allows for some wiggle room and still turns out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Love this recipe. Onlt thing I did different was go down to 2 cups sugar (1 c white, 1 c brown) and add a handful of raisins. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I make this bread every year as soon as it's fall, and again at Thanksgiving. I always get the best compliments on it and many requests for the recipe. In my oven it only takes 55 minutes for two loaves and the top does get a little crusty. Once cool, I go ahead and slice it up and store it. It stays extremely moist. Very good heated up with a pat of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was a fantastic pumpkin bread! The whole family loved it and it disappeared quickly. I made half a batch which was perfect for one loaf (wish I made the whole batch now!) Only thing I did differently was to add a tsp of vanilla to the half batch. Wonderful! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I've made this twice now. It is an excellent recipe, turning out great even with some ingredient substitutions. My first batch I subbed whole wheat flour for white and mostly Splenda brown for the white sugar, to make it heavier, more like the James Beard version. (He says, “Many people consider gingerbread to be a cake, but it was originally meant to be a bread served at lunch or dinner with sweet butter.”) Anyway I spread it in a 13x9 cake pan, cut it into squares while warm and served it with barely sweetened whipped cream. It got raves. Today I made it and only went half white whole wheat and half unbleached all purpose flour, and used mostly a white Splenda sugar blend, but a half c. of Splenda brown. Then I added dark chocolate chips & split the batch in half. Half went into a muffin tin & the other half into a bread pan. Still turned out amazing! Confession time; I didn't use pumpkin. I used homegrown roasted mashed butternut squash leftover from dinner, buttered & seasoned. So I cut the salt back by about 1 tsp also. Since I really like it good and spicy, I used 2 and 1/2 tsp ginger, 2/3 tsp allspice, 2 heaping tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp ground star anise, 1/4 tsp ground cloves, a couple of grinds of fresh nutmeg and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. (If I weren't serving it to my grandma and daughter I would've put a little snap into it with a bit of cayenne, and/or possibly subbed in some candied ginger for the chocolate chips.) Anyway, great recipe Frosty, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe provides everything you want in a pumpkin bread. It was moist and spicy with that devine pumpkin flavor. I only had 2 cups of sugar in my pantry and it was too late for me to run to the store, so I just made it with a cup less than the recipe called for and hoped for the best. I was pleasantly surprised that it came out delicious! We didn't miss the extra sugar at all, but I think 2 1/4 cups would be perfect. I didn't have any cloves in my pantry, so I substituted 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I am self-admittedly not a "baker" (sometimes my baked goods come out flat), but it rised beautifully. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These loaves were a big hit....gone in 1 evening.....will definitely be making this again. Would sure make a great gift for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wow this is good!! I think it's the perfect balance of pumpkin and gingerbread. The second time I made it I changed it up a bit- I used 1.5 cups of sugar and .5cup of brown sugar with 1 tsp of Mexican Vanilla. Either way this recipe is amazing and would be a fantastic addition to a holiday dinner or even given as gifts. This is probably the moistest quick bread I have ever made! Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States