Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great flavor. My only issue is the batter divided in half made way too big of loaves. Next time I will either make 3 maybe even 4 loaves. 2 loaves cooked way too unevenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Fantastic recipe!!! I use half wheat flour and double all spices except the cloves. Freezes well too. Thankyou Frosty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Fabulous! I literally ate half a loaf by myself before it even cooled. OJ makes a great substitution for the water, but if you use fresh pumpkin (which has a higher moisture content), reduce the water (or OJ) by half, otherwise it's a little damp and sticky. Gotta tell you - even damp and sticky, it's deee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I did not have all the spices on hand so I used 4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice plus 1 tsp of ground ginger and it had great flavor. Also, to save on fat I replaced the oil with 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I got 3 small, about 8x4, loaves and split the batter up so one was plain, one has raisins and one has chocolate chips, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I usually make Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread, but have been really unhappy with it the last few times I made it. I am so glad I tried this recipe, if you are looking for gingerbread, keep looking, but if you want a pumpkin spice loaf, this is it! I halved the sugar and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c fat free sour cream for the 1 c oil, for the spices I used 2 1/2 tsps cinnamon and 2 1/2 tsps pumpkin pie spice, made 6 mini loaves, baked in 40 minutes, beautiful domed loaves that were nice and moist. Made again as muffins, I halved the sugar and oil, used whole wheat flour, got 24 large muffins, baked in 22 minutes, 8 minis, baked in 17 minutes. I have also added cranberries and pecans which were really nice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Amazing! I thought I had a good pumpkin bread recipe before but this one is even better! My new go-to pumpkin bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yummy, moist, and just the right amount of spice! I reduced the sugar and it's still quite sweet. I also cooked them as muffins so they fit in the kids lunch boxes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this exactly as written, and it came out great. I did have to bake it for 1 hour and 20 minutes, but baking in the very center of my oven, that made it absolutely perfect. We love it, and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renstone
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This bread was not nearly as gingery as I would have hoped. If I make this again I will probably double the ginger. It needed more of a punch because it was kind of boring when made just as the recipe directs. This also made three loaves, not two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renstone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States