Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great flavor. My only issue is the batter divided in half made way too big of loaves. Next time I will either make 3 maybe even 4 loaves. 2 loaves cooked way too unevenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Fantastic recipe!!! I use half wheat flour and double all spices except the cloves. Freezes well too. Thankyou Frosty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Fabulous! I literally ate half a loaf by myself before it even cooled. OJ makes a great substitution for the water, but if you use fresh pumpkin (which has a higher moisture content), reduce the water (or OJ) by half, otherwise it's a little damp and sticky. Gotta tell you - even damp and sticky, it's deee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great recipe! I did not have all the spices on hand so I used 4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice plus 1 tsp of ground ginger and it had great flavor. Also, to save on fat I replaced the oil with 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I got 3 small, about 8x4, loaves and split the batter up so one was plain, one has raisins and one has chocolate chips, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I usually make Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread, but have been really unhappy with it the last few times I made it. I am so glad I tried this recipe, if you are looking for gingerbread, keep looking, but if you want a pumpkin spice loaf, this is it! I halved the sugar and used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c fat free sour cream for the 1 c oil, for the spices I used 2 1/2 tsps cinnamon and 2 1/2 tsps pumpkin pie spice, made 6 mini loaves, baked in 40 minutes, beautiful domed loaves that were nice and moist. Made again as muffins, I halved the sugar and oil, used whole wheat flour, got 24 large muffins, baked in 22 minutes, 8 minis, baked in 17 minutes. I have also added cranberries and pecans which were really nice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Amazing! I thought I had a good pumpkin bread recipe before but this one is even better! My new go-to pumpkin bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yummy, moist, and just the right amount of spice! I reduced the sugar and it's still quite sweet. I also cooked them as muffins so they fit in the kids lunch boxes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this exactly as written, and it came out great. I did have to bake it for 1 hour and 20 minutes, but baking in the very center of my oven, that made it absolutely perfect. We love it, and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renstone
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This bread was not nearly as gingery as I would have hoped. If I make this again I will probably double the ginger. It needed more of a punch because it was kind of boring when made just as the recipe directs. This also made three loaves, not two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renstone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States