Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Created 3 medium loaves. Froze one for later. Was the hit of the thanksgiving dessert. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was our first "pumpkin gingerbread" and we loved it! It's sweet and spicy, it smells delicious and tastes even better. It's fantastic with a cold glass of milk or a mug of hot coffee. We halved the recipe, since I wasn't sure if we would like this. Instead of pumpkin, I used a roasted sweet potato (when mashed it was just shy of one cup). We also used 1 1 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of bread flour, instead of just all-purpose. AND we substituted non-fat Greek yogurt for the oil. Ok, so we made some changes- it's a very forgiving recipe. We loved it. We will definitely be baking it again. We didn't add any frosting or topping, it didn't need it. It's sweet enough on it's own. I may cut back on the sugar slightly next time. Although, it is really good as is. Thank you Frosty for a delicious recipe that my little 4 1/2 year olds and I enjoyed immensely. UPDATE: We have baked this bread SIX times already! My kidabunks keep devouring it. It's a great Kids in the Kitchen recipe. We did cut back on the sugar to one cup (for a half-recipe) and used two tablespoons of orange juice as part of the water. It was still plenty sweet. We have one more sweet potato and only two tiny slices of Pumpkin Gingerbread, I know what we'll be baking today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Wonderful Ginger Pumpkin Bread. I did substitute 1/2 applesauce for 1/2 of the oil (everything else was as written except I sifted all the dry ingredients in with the flour) and I will try all applesauce to save even more on fat and calories next time. The bread got rave reviews from the family on Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I'm vegan, so I replaced the eggs with EnerG egg replacer - huge hit at my family's Christmas Eve party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
A M A Z I N G !!! This recipe has just the right amount of spices to make it an irresistible dessert. Best if served warm with vanilla bean ice cream and/or cool whip. I baked mine in a 9X13 glass pyrex dish at 350 for 53m on the third rack (from the bottom), and it came out perfect. Thanks for sharing this wonderful holiday recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
easy & delicious! I cooked up a small pie pumpkin instead of using canned, and it worked perfectly. made two nice loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liederlover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I added 1 cup of molasses and used brown sugar instead of white. It was very good, I well make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita Mccullough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Oh my goodness. Firstly, this recipe was purely amazing. I made this for supper dessert one night and my family loved it. However, I did make a few changes. First off, doubling the spices is a MUST, as without them, it's really rather flavourless, just really sweet. I also dropped the sugar about a half a cup, which made is just the right amount of sweet to compliment the spices. The amount of pumpkin and ginger went really well together and taste fantastic. Again, doubling the spices is a MUST. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I know people get irritated when you rate a recipe that you modified but I still feel like this recipe is great on its own. I just happened to change it to suit me and it still came out fantabulous. Smells friggin awesome while it's baking. I halved the recipe and used my standard loaf pan (8x4). Used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, the rest AP. Used orange juice instead of water cause why not? Increased the spices by about 50% except the cloves (blech) cause I wanted it super spicy and added some cardamom to the mix. Applesauce instead of oil. Baked for exactly an hour with foil over top the last 20 min or so. Because I had them around and didn't know how to get rid of them, threw in 3/4 cup of chopped fresh cranberries. It has an interesting spongy texture when it's done but I don't mind it. It's still super moist and tastes yummy especially with some low fat cream cheese spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Added pecans - and just made one loaf. Great flavor & moist! I was hesitant to let it bake a full hour - so I started monitoring at 45 min - but true enough it took just over an hour with me opening up and baking other cookies - for the toothpick to come out clean. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anji Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States