Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I make this bread every year as soon as it's fall, and again at Thanksgiving. I always get the best compliments on it and many requests for the recipe. In my oven it only takes 55 minutes for two loaves and the top does get a little crusty. Once cool, I go ahead and slice it up and store it. It stays extremely moist. Very good heated up with a pat of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was a fantastic pumpkin bread! The whole family loved it and it disappeared quickly. I made half a batch which was perfect for one loaf (wish I made the whole batch now!) Only thing I did differently was to add a tsp of vanilla to the half batch. Wonderful! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I've made this twice now. It is an excellent recipe, turning out great even with some ingredient substitutions. My first batch I subbed whole wheat flour for white and mostly Splenda brown for the white sugar, to make it heavier, more like the James Beard version. (He says, “Many people consider gingerbread to be a cake, but it was originally meant to be a bread served at lunch or dinner with sweet butter.”) Anyway I spread it in a 13x9 cake pan, cut it into squares while warm and served it with barely sweetened whipped cream. It got raves. Today I made it and only went half white whole wheat and half unbleached all purpose flour, and used mostly a white Splenda sugar blend, but a half c. of Splenda brown. Then I added dark chocolate chips & split the batch in half. Half went into a muffin tin & the other half into a bread pan. Still turned out amazing! Confession time; I didn't use pumpkin. I used homegrown roasted mashed butternut squash leftover from dinner, buttered & seasoned. So I cut the salt back by about 1 tsp also. Since I really like it good and spicy, I used 2 and 1/2 tsp ginger, 2/3 tsp allspice, 2 heaping tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp ground star anise, 1/4 tsp ground cloves, a couple of grinds of fresh nutmeg and 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice. (If I weren't serving it to my grandma and daughter I would've put a little snap into it with a bit of cayenne, and/or possibly subbed in some candied ginger for the chocolate chips.) Anyway, great recipe Frosty, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This recipe provides everything you want in a pumpkin bread. It was moist and spicy with that devine pumpkin flavor. I only had 2 cups of sugar in my pantry and it was too late for me to run to the store, so I just made it with a cup less than the recipe called for and hoped for the best. I was pleasantly surprised that it came out delicious! We didn't miss the extra sugar at all, but I think 2 1/4 cups would be perfect. I didn't have any cloves in my pantry, so I substituted 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I am self-admittedly not a "baker" (sometimes my baked goods come out flat), but it rised beautifully. This ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These loaves were a big hit....gone in 1 evening.....will definitely be making this again. Would sure make a great gift for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wow this is good!! I think it's the perfect balance of pumpkin and gingerbread. The second time I made it I changed it up a bit- I used 1.5 cups of sugar and .5cup of brown sugar with 1 tsp of Mexican Vanilla. Either way this recipe is amazing and would be a fantastic addition to a holiday dinner or even given as gifts. This is probably the moistest quick bread I have ever made! Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Can you make cupcakes out of this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Ann Moul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York Haven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I don't know where my review for this went, I made it the week after "lisa", on September 6th, because she made it sound so good. We liked this but it wasn't as gingery as I expected. I made this into muffins and now I have no idea how long I baked them for since the site ate my original review! They sure were good though. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This one is excellent! I made just one loaf and I did make a number of changes based on input from other reviewers. I cut the sugar and for my “half” recipe used 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white. I mixed the spices into the flour mixture, cutting back on the cloves as a personal preference, and cutting the salt to 1/2 t. I was concerned because the batter was quite thin compared to other quick breads I have made, but it rose up beautifully. I decreased the oven temp to 325 degrees and baked for about 1 hour and 20 minutes. Thank you frosty! This one’s a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
failproof and taste wonderful. I notcied it tastes better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States