Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I love this recipe. Of course, I have messed with it, and will continue to do so. In general however it's good as it is. If you are shooting for greater healthiness, replace the oil with applesauce, and use 20 drops of stevia extract to replace 1 c of sugar. Still bakes up moist and dense, without the extra fat and sugar. If you are a lover of spicy gingerbread increase the ginger to 1 1/2 T and cinnamon up to 1/4 c, add more nutmeg and clove, also a shot of coriander, a bit of mace. As some other reviewers have suggested it can hardly be gingerbread without subbing in molasses for some of the sugar. I've done so with good results, although as long as you use brown sugar the difference is negligible. I plan to try it with a 2/3 c of Chai tea instead of the water this time. Baking time warning, using two loaf pans, it takes much longer to bake than the instruction suggest, almost an hour and a half. Maybe this is just an indictment of my oven's calibration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
OMG!!! I was looking for a good pumpkin bread recipe when I came across this. I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup and I added maybe a 1/4 cup of applesauce and it was so moist and yummmy. This recipe though made so much - i got two loaves and 24 mini cupcakes. I topped the mini cupcakes off with an icing, some confectionary sugar and water. I would cut the recipie in half next time, but YOU HAVE TO TRY THESE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
added 1 cup raisins & slices almands
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My neighbors and I LOVED this! I put chocolate chips in one of the loaves and ended up wishing I hadn't IT was PERFECT the way it was originally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
It was okay. I don't know what I expected - maybe for it to be sweeter or spicier?? It was so moist so props for that but I found it to be kind of eggy tasting. I followed the recipe exactly except I did use the suggestion to lower the temperature and cook it a bit longer and my crust was not overdone. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is hands down the most delicious pumpkin bread recipe that I've ever made and the only one that I will make from now on. Super easy, wonderfully spicy and soooooo moist. After reading some of the other reviews I took their advice to lower the heat to 325° and increased the baking time to 1 hour and 15 minutes and it came out absolutely perfect with no hard crust. This recipe makes 2 large loaf pans. Give this recipe a try - it will be your favorite new recipe, too! TIP: wrap the loaves with stil slightly warm and seat the moist-ness in. I also added 1/2 tsp. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
LOVE this recipie. What a great flavor and perfect for a fall day. Slather some butter on a warm slice and get ready for a piece of heaven!! I made 6 small loaves out of it and shared with some friends. I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I have made it using the recommendations by others. I replace 1/2 amount of sugar with brown sugar and double up the spices except ground clove. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotoMeMotoU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
No, this isn't authentic gingerbread. But it's still delicious, with a few alterations. First, the sugar. I used 1 cup of white and 1/5 cups of light brown - helps with the overwhelming sweetness everyone kept referring to. Second, I doubled ALL the spice amounts. Finally, I baked it as directed at 350 for 1 hour... after which I turned the oven down to 125 and baked it for another 15 minutes. Perfect texture. A nice crispy crust with a delicious, perfectly cooked center. I rated this four stars instead of five, because the actual recipe listed just didn't work. However, with my alterations, it was amazingly delicious and I would eat it everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Fabulous! Added 2/12 cups sugar instead of 3 and it was GONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States