Pumpkin Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Wow! Excellent bread! I made it with a pie pumpkin I cooked and it was a hit with everyone. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liederlover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I added 1 cup of molasses and used brown sugar instead of white. It was very good, I well make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita Mccullough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Oh my goodness. Firstly, this recipe was purely amazing. I made this for supper dessert one night and my family loved it. However, I did make a few changes. First off, doubling the spices is a MUST, as without them, it's really rather flavourless, just really sweet. I also dropped the sugar about a half a cup, which made is just the right amount of sweet to compliment the spices. The amount of pumpkin and ginger went really well together and taste fantastic. Again, doubling the spices is a MUST. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I know people get irritated when you rate a recipe that you modified but I still feel like this recipe is great on its own. I just happened to change it to suit me and it still came out fantabulous. Smells friggin awesome while it's baking. I halved the recipe and used my standard loaf pan (8x4). Used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, the rest AP. Used orange juice instead of water cause why not? Increased the spices by about 50% except the cloves (blech) cause I wanted it super spicy and added some cardamom to the mix. Applesauce instead of oil. Baked for exactly an hour with foil over top the last 20 min or so. Because I had them around and didn't know how to get rid of them, threw in 3/4 cup of chopped fresh cranberries. It has an interesting spongy texture when it's done but I don't mind it. It's still super moist and tastes yummy especially with some low fat cream cheese spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Added pecans - and just made one loaf. Great flavor & moist! I was hesitant to let it bake a full hour - so I started monitoring at 45 min - but true enough it took just over an hour with me opening up and baking other cookies - for the toothpick to come out clean. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anji Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
So my baby was crying as I was adding the spices, so I ended up rushing and not following the recipe as closely as I otherwise would have. I Added two teaspoons of cinnamon, and I thought it called for pumpkin pie spice instead of allspice. Otherwise I followed this exactly and it smells as good as it tastes! I did have a longer cooking time since I baked both loaves at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This bread is yummy! I did as others suggested and turned the oven down to 325. I also cut the sugar down from 3 cups to 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce as well and doubled the ginger, allspice, and cinnamon. I used 1 3/4 fresh pumpkin puree instead of canned. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
The bread came out near perfect. I thought it could have used a crunch such as nuts or raisins added to it, or a sprinkle of sugar on top during the baking process. Cooked it at 325 for 75 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Perfectly balanced with spice and texture. Very tasty and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
First I want to say that if you change the recipe but give it 5 stars you are not accurately rating this recipe. You are rating your own, so put your own recipe on this site for other reviewers to pick apart and rate based on their changes. Ok, this recipe was absolutely perfect. I made as written with no changes and my whole family loved it. I think if I had added more spices as other reviewers did it would have overwhelmed the pumpkin flavor. This was moist and delicious and perfectly spiced. Thank you for this recipe. This is now a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 968) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States