Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Super delicious and so light with a little crispy crust. I tried half the recipe and need to make more tomorrow. It made 12 regular size muffins and 12 little mini ones. I baked those for just 10 minutes. Kids love the little bite size cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Amazing. Omitted the crystallized ginger, and they taste great without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Fantastic Pumpkin recipe! I was a bit worried with the stiffness of the batter but they came out perfect. I used the Crystalized Ginger and not shyly and think it is the perfect spicy counterpoint to the the earthy tastes of the pumpkin and aromatic spices. Love Love this recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Pathos57
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
THIS is one of the most perfect cupcakes I have ever had. They are moist, flavorful & perfectly spiced. I chose not to use the chopped crystalized ginger, but used 1 1/4 tsp. ginger (total) instead. Creaming the butter & sugar until lighter colored & using room temperature eggs is essential. For the frosting, I chose the Cream Cheese II recipe on this site. I piped the frosting on top of each cake in a swirl pattern. Glazed Walnut garnish: As a garnish, I placed 1/4 cup sugar & 1/4 tsp. salt in a heavy bottom saucepan. I stiirred this over medium heat until the sugar began to melt and then added 2 cups of walnuts. I continued stirring until the sugar was melted and turned a golden brown. Carefully pour the glazed walnuts onto waxed paper - use a spoon or spatula to separate the nuts. Be careful! Hot sugar is PAINFUL. You'll have a nice snack of glazed walnuts left over after you decorate the cupcakes. This delicious optional garnish provides a nice crunch on these absolutely fabulous gems. This Thanksgiving, I think I'll be making these cupcakes instead of pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
These are AMAZING! I omit the crystalized ginger and add a whole bag of Nestle Tollhouse MINI chocolate chips (the larger ones tend to sink to the bottom) at the end of mixing. They are an absolute favorite at every get-together I bring them, too. If you want to be extra decadent, top them with the Cream Cheese Frosting II posted on this site. Yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Very good! The ginger was difficult to chop because it's so sticky but the cupcakes came out delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
These are fantastic! I ended up using butternut squash (baked and pureed) instead of pumpkin because I had a ton of it on hand that I needed to use. They still came out very tasty! I made some Super Mario Bros fondant toppers to go on it for a friends birthday. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made these to take to the office. I used King Arthur Flour mini ginger chips for the crystallized ginger. Frosted them with caramel frosting. Hubby, who doesn't like sweets, loved them. My colleagues thought they were the best they'd ever tasted. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Amazing cupcakes! Moist and tender, great flavor. The crystallized ginger adds just the right amount of kick. I forgot to get butterscotch pudding mix at the store, so I used what I had in my pantry - french vanilla pudding mix. I loved the result! For those not familiar with crystallized ginger, it is ginger that has been dried and sugared. When you first bite into it, it has a sweet lemony flavor, but then as you start chewing, you are hit with a peppery zing. A very interesting ingredient, and a perfect addition to these cupcakes! I found that I did have to bake the cupcakes more like 27 minutes (my oven runs cooler, so I actually baked them at 355, but it still took 27 minutes for them to be done). They are wonderful unfrosted, but I couldn't help frosting half the batch with "Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site. The combination is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmsbeckie
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Because of the Pumpkin shortage (how is that still going on?) I used sweet potato filling. They took 35 minutes to bake, but I think that's because of the substitution I made. I'm going to have to learn how to cooke a pumpkin instead of just carve them I guess. Still, they turned our amazing and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmsbeckie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

These delicious cupcakes make any fall occasion special.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States