Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I want to start by saying that I make dozens of batches of fudge every fall, so I'm no newcomer to the fudge scene. This fudge has a wonderful flavor, but I found that I had to boil the mixture for longer than the 18 minutes the directions call for. My first batch didn't set up, so the second one I used a candy thermometer for and let it get to the softball stage (THE fudge stage) before pulling it off the heat. I think the 18 minutes probably worked for the specific stove the original author used, but probably the time will be different depending on the stove being used. I recommend using the candy thermometer and boiling it to the softball stage. Otherwise, wonderful recipe--very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Recipe needs to be revised to indicate the temperature the fudge mixture should reach before it's taken off the stove at the last step. Cook times should *always* be an approximation, to account for stove differences, despite what the other reviewers say that "if it doesn't set up it's your own fault". Mine never set up, but without a thermometer reading to rely on I had to trust that 18 minutes was enough. So now I have a pan of fudge I can't cut to give anybody, and am hoping it will work as a fudge ripple sauce in ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made this recipe as-is for Thanksgiving and it was delicious. I had no trouble with it at all. :) Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Had trouble getting it to set properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Didnt firm up at all! The soft goo tasted good but was like pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I am not sure what I did wrong, Im a novice fudge maker. Like other reviewers, I added a whole bag of chocolate chips, my fudge did not spread, in fact it was very crumbly. So was it too many chips or did I do something wrong in the cooking process. Thanks for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I over bought pumpkin puree and was looking for creative ways to use it up. This recipie was such a hit. I will become one of my staples for the holidays much like my pumpkin roll. I did use a candy thermometer and cooked to soft ball stage..... just perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Needs more pumpkin flavor and spice. This is the first fudge I've made on the stove top. I had to keep it at a rolling boil for 18 minutes and it set up just fine. I added the marshmallow at the end with the chocolate, and it all melted together without problem. The 3 stars came from lack of pumpkin flavor. It also needed more spice in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The flavor of this fudge is awesome. The texture is a little soft but I'm blaming that on me (and maybe the Houston weather). Will try again for sure. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Perfect pumpkin fudge! I used pureed fresh pumpkin instead of canned, and added pumpkin pie spice-- a very easy to follow recipe with a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States