Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
First of all. If you have trouble with this fudge it's your own fault. Not the recipe writers. Secondly..it's getting awfully old seeing people complain when THEY are the ones who make mistakes in the recipes. This web site was created so that people had the option to try and rate new recipes. You didn't succeed in making this..get over it. I followed the directions (without a candy thermometer) and this came out great!! It's not rocket science. Cook till it boils. Add ingredients..cook till it boils again.. Bring to rolling boil..then cook for 18 min (set your timers) and stir occasionally. Some people just weren't meant to master fudge. I will DEFINATELY make this recipe again! What a nice change from ordinary fudge! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
733 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Here's a tip for those of you who said your tin foil stuck to the fudge. DO NOT USE a cheap thin tin foil. Reynolds brand even makes a heavy duty NON STICK FOIL that worked perfectly for me. For those of you who ended up with pumpkin caramel....you didn't cook it long enough...end of story. I used a candy thermometer, and cooking it on medium takes about 25 to 30 min. to get to the softball stage. If you cook it long enough then this recipe is foolproof. I did use an entire 12 oz. bag of the chips and the pumpkin pie spice. I have gotten rave reviews on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Nice texture, but has better flavor with 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Once it comes to a boil, turn the heat down so it's just enough to maintain the boil and stir *occasionally* as the directions say, for 18 minutes. You do not need a thermometer. I checked the temperature after 18 minutes and it was not up to soft ball stage. I chose to follow the directions rather than my thermometer and the fudge is perfect. It is also good with chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This recipe is not like traditional chocolate or peanut butter fudge. It's not creamy, but pumpkin isn't creamy. So it should be expected. However it is so tasty. I made this a couple of days ago and had multiple requests for the recipe. Very easy. The changes I made to the recipe were adding a full bag of vanilla chips and adding 1/2 tsp of ground cloves and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg so that way it would have more pumpkin pie taste. I didn't use a candy thermometer and the fudge wasn't dry or gooey. It set up perfectly. I highly recommend this recipe for a fun Thanksgiving treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
WOW!! All I can say is that this fudge is fantastic tasting. It's not too sweet and it has a nice even balance of flavors all centered around the pumpkin. It took me three tries to get this right because I had never made fudge before---but once I used a candy thermometer (234 F) for the final boil, this was easy as can be. Tips for those just trying it out: I replaced the cinnamon with Pumpkin Pie spice, and I just sprayed my pan with a non-stick butter spray instead of using the foil. Other than that, use a candy thermometer to get this right on the last step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Mmmmm! First time making pumkpin fudge. A nice change from chocolate and peanut butter. I doubled the recipe with no problems. Use a candy thermometer to ensure that your fudge reaches the soft ball stage (232°F). I also recommend a wisk for combining the ingredients and stirring in the pumpkin, marshmallow creme and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I, like others, ended up with a pan of sticky goo. DO NOT USE FOIL to line the pan! The "fudge" sticks to the foil and you cannot remove it. I tried freezing it, heating it up and tearing it out. Nothing worked to get it out of the pan without pieces of foil stuck to it. I'd rename this "pumpkin caramel".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I used a candy thermometer to be sure it reached 230 degrees, I had no problem with it setting up. it taste great. Loved it. Doris :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
FANTASTIC!!! I was so pleased with the results! I divided it up and asked for reviews from my parents, sisters, & their families, and all of them called me to say how much they enjoyed it. I did cut the cinnamon down to 1/2 tsp. and added 1/2 tsp.of pumpkin pie spice and it really seemed to bring out the wonderful flavor. I also was sure to grease the foil with butter and had no problems. This will definetly be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This recipe is awesome. We had it at one of our fall get togethers and everyone loved it. So yummy and smooth. A must for any one to try. I had no problem getting this to set-up. Just make sure you do what the recipes says. You have to Stir the mixture the whole time you boil it and must be boiled for the entire 18 minutes. Well, worth all the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painted Post, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States