Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Okay, first off, I need to say that I'm reviewing this recipe based on the fact that 1- it was my first-ever attempt at fudge, 2- my stove top is of poor quality and heats up very erratically, which makes it hard to judge cooking time, and 3- I got distracted while making it so I think I overcooked it by about 2 minutes. Needless to say it was therefore not as creamy as it could have been, and tasted more like a divinity-fudge kind of confection. I may make it again sometime and thus give it a better review. Still, it was good and looked pretty enough (I cut it into small diamonds and presented it in a glass jar) that I served it on Thanksgiving day as a little treat. It was easy to cut and I had NO PROBLEM removing the foil, even if I had not used the heavy-duty kind. Do make sure to have all ingredients pre-measured and set out at the ready before you start cooking as it starts to boil pretty fast. I did mess up with the cooking time, but it needn't be this way for you. The kids liked it, while I enjoyed the spicy pumpkin flavor, but it was slightly too sweet for me (well, I guess fudge IS sweet). My guests didn't mention it, so I don't think they loved it that much. Someone said it was "different but good" (another way of saying, in short, "this one bite was alright, but I'm not going to be begging for more" LOL). Would probably try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
yum yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very rich but with a nice pumpkin flavor. I did the 1/2 pumpkin pie spice 1/2 cinnamon alter which turned out good. Like others say its not creamy and mine was kind of hard- not like a soft chocolate fudge- but was still very good in small quantities due to the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Fl.
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was my first try at making fudge, and I'm glad it was, it came out perfect! So good, and easy for us first timers! Thanks for the ego booster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blankke
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I love this recipe! Made just a couple of changes to the recipe, substituted marshmellow fluff for the marshmellow cream and in addition to the 2 tsp of cinnamon, I added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. Cooked it for the 18 minutes as stated without the thermometer and it came out perfect!! I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Better just go ahead and double it! Make sure your pot is WAY bigger then you think you're going to need though...it bubbles up very high for a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
,,I RATED THIS A FOUR, ONLY BECAUSE IT IS ALITTLE MORE SWEET I THINK THAN A CHOCOLATE OR P.BUTTER FUDGE,IT IS A GREAT RECIPE FOR THE FALL SEASON, I DID IT FOR OUR CHURCH BAKE SALE,,I CHECKED REVIEWS FIRST BEFORE MAKING THIS, AND I DID DO 1/2 A TSP OF CINN AND 1/2 TSP OF ALL SPICE LIKE THE OTHERS REQUESTED,I DIDN'T CHANGE ANYTHING ELSE,I DIDN'T USE A THERMOMETER EITHER FOR WHEN I WAS GONNA USE IT, I NOTICED IT HAD A SMALL CRACK AT THE BOTTOM,SO I TRUSTED THE 18 MIN AND IT TURNED OUT GREAT,,AND LADIES, I'M A FIRST TIME FUDGE MAKER WITH THIS RECIPE, SO IF I CAN DO IT SO CAN YOU,,,,BLESSINGS AND WISHING YOU ALL THE BEST OF LUCK,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palys88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
After following the recipe exactly, I was stuck with fudge that refused to set. Further research revealed that a major instruction was missing- the use of a candy thermometer to get the mixture to the correct temperature (237*F) where it would set. Other recipes have this important step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunfell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I made this today and turned out perfect. It is cooling now. Set up beautiful. So good. Only change, used 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Yummy. Followed directions to a t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States