Pumpkin Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by hillary113
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I'll start off by saying I'm not a cook by any means. I'm a girl of convenience. But I wanted to make some pumpkin fudge for a friend of mine. Let me tell you, this was SUPER EASY! I modified it a bit though... --> I used 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin spice. (Instead of all cinnamon.) --> I added the marshmallow creme AFTER boiling for 18 minutes. --> I melted the white chocolate before I added to the mixture. --> I used both methods...the 18 minutes of boiling and a candy thermometer. Both were spot on. Just make sure it's a true rolling boil (a.k.a. when you stir it doesn't slow down the boil). --> I used non-stick foil. With these modifications, everything turned out amazing!! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Any reason people aren't using a light coat of Pam just to be on the safe side? After reading many reviews I decided to lightly spray half of the pan as an expiriment.... The fudge didn't stick to either sprayed or non sprayed foil so I don't see why people be freaking out... Also 2 recipe variations... I couldn't get my hands on any regular fluff, all I could find was "Ricemellow", made from brown rice syrup and it worked just like regular fluff (Wholefoods is the closest store to me and they aren't allowed to carry the regular stuff) and I used all 12 oz of white chocolate which was stupid of me since I don't like white chocolate... Texture was unaffected but its a little too white chocolate-y for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I'm not sure what happened but as soon as I put the white chocolate chips in and the vanilla extract it turned to DUST! Dry crumbly and resembled BROWN SUGAR!!! Followed this recipe to a T...ahhhh I'm soooo mad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Easy recipe, but mine came out a bit too chewy/mushy so I must not have boiled it long enough. Was really, really sweet... I also added a few spices. See details and photos at valsway.blogpot.com Overall, easy, tasty recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This turned out perfect. As some of the more recent reviews stated, if it is gooey, you didn't cook it long enough. I did not use a thermometer and had no problems. The only change I made was using pumpkin spice instead of plain cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I agree, if this didn't work for you it's not the recipes fault. I bake a lot but have never made fudge. This was SUPER EASY. all it takes is the patience to stir occassionally and test your mixture often. No thermometer used -just cold water and my own judgement. I cut the cinnamon in half, added 1/4 tsp (or so -I just eyeballed the measurment) of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ground ginger. It was devoured at work before lunchtime hit and the people who missed out (I didn't have 2 or 3 pieces per person as wound up happening) are disappointed so I'm dipping into the ones I kept for myself so they can try it... 4 stars because I thought it would be even better than it was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I did use quality ingradients and make fudge enough to know what I'm doing and it has always turned out, until this one. I've noticed other pumpkin fudge recipes call for shorter boil times, so I'm going to try that next time. This one is dry and crumbly and as with other posters, when we put in the white chips it became instantly dry and hard and the chips did not even get to melt into it. Also the taste is okay, but not enough of a pumpkin taste. Was expecting something creamier and instead it's more like granola. But my family is still eating it, so it's not all lost. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My mom and I really wanted some pumpkin fudge... my mom is a great fudge maker, BUT this recipe isn't really clean cut. We followed the recipe EXACTLY.... the whole cook time, exact ingredients...etc. When we removed from heat and added white choc chips and vanilla, it turned to a powdery consistency. We had to add 1/4 cup water and 1 TBSP butter to get it back to creamy and back on the heat. Not sure what happened. The taste it ok... we added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and cloves but overall this recipe was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoppin4health

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy recipe. I really like the texture of the cookies. They come out moist and soft, and 20 minutes was the perfect amount of time. I also like the fact that they are not too sweet. Drizzle just a bit of the icing on top for a slightly sweeter cookie, or dip the top of the cookie in the icing for those of you who have a sweet tooth. I added 1 cup of walnuts to the batter before baking. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cori
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Easy, easy, easy. Followed directions all the way through and it turned out just right. Excellent fall treat. I misted my Reynolds foil with spray butter then wiped it off with a paper towel, just in case...worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States